cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Goose Neck Adapter

gbsb
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2010 Fuzion FZ383 Toy hauler 40 f00t 3 axles. I had a Flatbed installed on my F450 Ford. Because it set to tall I went with a gooseneck adapter to pull with. Long story made short after 2 years the Ford gave up the ghost and I have a Ram 3500 now with the puck system for a hitch. I installed a 25000 pound B&W Companion hitch and went to hook up 5th wheel. Removed the adapter and discovered the pin box was bent, I had to replace the pin box on the 5th wheel. Just a little information for any one thinking of using a gooseneck adapter. Think long and hard about it , I haven't found any more damage that it caused yet.
12 REPLIES 12

nayther
Explorer
Explorer
lincster wrote:
nayther wrote:
I just shake my head when guys insist there's no difference when using a gooseneck adapter and argue there's no change in forces. Since I'm an engineer and took Statics and Dynamics in school it's clear as a bell where the forces are different.

Oh no. 2 Engineers on this forum???? Watch out!!!!!

What's you discipline? Mine's mechanical, HVAC in concentration.
DIRT BIKES RULE

'12 Duramax CC short bed
2019 Wildcat Maxx 285RKX

lincster
Explorer
Explorer
nayther wrote:
I just shake my head when guys insist there's no difference when using a gooseneck adapter and argue there's no change in forces. Since I'm an engineer and took Statics and Dynamics in school it's clear as a bell where the forces are different.

Oh no. 2 Engineers on this forum???? Watch out!!!!!
2022 F350 PSD CC 4X4 Dually to pull 2006 LE3905

Lincsters Truck/Trailer

Lincsters Rail

nayther
Explorer
Explorer
DIRT BIKES RULE

'12 Duramax CC short bed
2019 Wildcat Maxx 285RKX

lincster
Explorer
Explorer
Yep. Been a known issue for years in the toyhauler world.
I have known 3 buddies that used it and didnโ€™t listen to me.
They ended up with the same results.
Dolla dolla bills yo!!!!!