cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much weight is too much?

Bob3Putt
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2011 RAM 5.7 Megacab which has a rated towing capacity of 11,150 lbs. I have been pulling a 10,950 lb Cedar Creek trailer for 7 years with it. Fully loaded the gross weight of my trailer is around 11,400 lbs. I have had no problems pulling it from New York to Seattle and up and down every steep pass in 5 states. I feel like the tow guides are a little conservitive and you can probably get away with pulling a somewhat heavier trailer than the truck is rated for. But now I am looking at getting a new 11,500 lb trailer. Fully loaded that would make it around 11,900 lbs. So I am wondering just how much weight I can safely pull. Am I safe in pulling 11,900 lbs with a truck rated for 11,150 lbs or is the extra 600 lbs going to be too much for my truck?
78 REPLIES 78

RoyJ
Explorer
Explorer
Does anyone have links to even *1* lawsuit against an overweight RV combination?

A very common scare tactic here - go over 1 lb of a powertrain warranty driven "tow rating", you'll be sued till your wife and kids are living in the park...

4x4ord brings up a good point - if I overload my Corvette (easy with 440 lbs payload), and stopped in 110' from 60mph, instead of 97', I can be sued?

MFL
Nomad II
Nomad II
Cummins12V98 wrote:
"X2 I have had farts that weighed more."

Were they "BLUE" ???

Most likely :E

I do enjoy reading his SHORT posts, and seems to be a knowledgeable person. I just have to skip his LONG posts! Maybe his eyes are better than mine, or, he doesn't read his own posts.

Jerry

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
"X2 I have had farts that weighed more."

Were they "BLUE" ???
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Edd505
Explorer