cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on tires, towing and Baja please

tomcoz
Explorer
Explorer
I’m still relatively new to the travel trailer world. I’m hoping someone with more experience will check my reasoning and calculations regarding tow vehicle tires. My tow vehicle is a 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel Trailhawk 4x4. JGC towing capacity is 7,200lbs. We tow a 2019 Lance model 1985 dry wt 4,045 lbs; Carrying capacity 1,655 lbs; GVWR 5,700 lbs; tongue weight 500lbs; with tandem torsion axle; total length is 23’8 . I have read that you should keep the TT GVWR at least 20% (1,440lbs) below the towing capacity. The difference between JGC towing capacity and the Lance GVWR is 1,500 lbs which is about 21% cushion. So that seems safe.

We do take some longer trips, spend time boondocking, and do travel Baja California. We selected the JGC Trailhawk ecodiesel for towing and serious off roading. The Trailhawk comes with factory towing package which includes Class III factory receiver and bigger brakes. We added a REDARC TT brake controller and the equalizer 600 weight distributing hitch (tongue 600lbs, TT GVWR 6,000lbs). The JGC is set up with rock rails and will soon have a hidden winch and extra front skid plates. I know to subtract the weight of the winch + armor + tongue wt of 500 lbs. (estimating 700lbs total) from the vehicle carrying capacity of 1,190 lbs. That gives me about 490 lbs of people and their stuff. Most of the time it is my wife and I and our two small dogs. That leaves us about 100bs for gear in the JGC. Everything else has to go in the trailer.