cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dolly towing

abc40kids
Explorer
Explorer
My buddy is gonna tow his 95 Wrangler 4x4 on a tow dolly behind his RV. It’s a manual, is he ok in neutral or will there be damage? Thanks
Jeff,Julie,Amber,Brandon,and Casey and Winston ( our 5 year old Golden ) and Bruno the Pug. We now have an English Cream, white Golden Retriever as well.
2015 Keystone Montana Mountaineer 356TBF
2005 Chevy duramax dually
17 REPLIES 17

crawford
Explorer
Explorer
2015 jeeps say no tow dolly only 4 wheel down in park transfer case in neutral this is in the book....
Change from a c class to a A class Georgetown 07 triple slide

dubdub07
Explorer
Explorer
I am no expert, but I believe you can NOT tow a Jeep with a transfer case with only the rear wheels on the ground because the transfer case/transmission is lubricated by a pump that is driven by the front driveshaft. So it will spin okay, but it will not lubricate unless the front driveshaft is spinning working the pump.....

WW
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
TOADS: 12 Jeep JKUR Wrangler, 16 Cherokee Trailhawk, 15 Grand Cherokee, 13 RAM 1500 Longhorn (not a toad) American STEEL = American profits
RET USAF MSGT (26yrs) and still DoD ATC.
DW,DS,DD in the MH w/Westley the killer PUG!

lane_hog
Explorer II
Explorer II
Disconnecting the drive shaft is by far the safest if you have to put a Jeep on a dolly.

Pulling the shaft entirely can allow contaminants to enter the transfer case, so we remove the U-joint bearing at the pumpkin and use a load strap to secure the drive shaft up and away from the suspension.
  • 2019 Grand Design 29TBS (had a Winnebago and 3x Jayco owner)
  • 2016 F-150 3.5L MaxTow (had Ram 2500 CTD, Dodge Durango)
  • 130W solar and 2005 Honda EU2000i twins that just won't quit

mowermech
Explorer
Explorer
"...put it in neutral also transfer case in neutral..."
That is not what the Owner's Manual says! Again, READ and FOLLOW the instructions in the Owner's Manual!