Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Add second air conditioner to 30 amp RV
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Add second air conditioner to 30 amp RV

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Boomerweps

Hills of PA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/30/2018

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 01:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Your basic plan is solid. An EMS, as suggested, is a good thing to have but would not cover a separated, add on power supply. I added a seperate 15/20 amp inlet on my TT that supplies one duplex outlet inside. So I can separately run a power hog off that while running my Air Conditioning or microwave (not at the same time). I can run an electric heater, toaster, electric fry pan, or coffee maker off the new power supply and not drag down the main power.


2019 Wolf Pup 16 BHS Limited
2019 F150 SCrew STX SB 5.0 factory tow package

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 02:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MEXICOWANDERER wrote:

Running a pair of A/C means every so often in a hot climate they BOTH will want to high head pressure re-start simultaneously.

That's when compressor motors will fry and other electrical has to deal with an 80-volt brownout.
Mex That's changed for some rigs. Since 04 my rigs A/Cs have a 12V controller connected with a data cable to the thermostat. They controls won't allow multiple starts at the same time in addition to other functions.


2009 Holiday Rambler 42' Scepter with ISL 400 Cummins
750 Watts Solar Morningstar MPPT 60 Controller
2014 Grand Cherokee Overland

Bob


myredracer

Langley B.C.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/27/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 03:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would add that ALL pedestals require a 20 amp receptacle by code. But the NEC does NOT require the wiring to a pedestal to be sized for the 20 plus 30 amp receptacles to be used simultaneously and may be only #10 wire protected by a 30 amp breaker in a CG panel. You won't have 50 amps (30 + 20 @ 120 volts) available unless you're in a newer CG with loop-fed pedestals or a pedestal has 50 amps.

You would have no problem using a 30 to 50 amp adapter along with a separate connection to the 20 amp recept. other than monitoring the voltage.


Gil, Deb & Dougal a 15 year old Springer Spaniel
2014 KZ Spree 262RKS, Reese DC WDH, shocks and Endurance LRE tires
2012 GMC Sierra 2500HD crew cab, Bilstein shocks, heavy duty trailering option


MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 04:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My aim was to avoid Mississippi riverboat grade workarounds. I've seen some real off-the-wall

"But if we..."

rickfraza

Texas

New Member

Joined: 10/23/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 07:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for all your comments and help. My intent is to not disturb the existing RV 30A wiring system. Rather, the new A/C unit would be on a completely separate circuit wired to a plug mounted on the outside of the RV. To power the A/C, a 10awg extension cord would be run between that plug and the 5-20A outlet in the pedestal. I understood this could possibly cause the circuit breaker to pop, so I wondered if there was a better method. I am neither an engineer or an electrician, but I have experience with electrical circuits. I understand that the 50A service actually provides 2 legs of 120V (L0-L1 & L0-L2) @ 30A and this is why I asked if using the 50A pedestal outlet would be a better option than plugging into the 20A outlet. I have not been able to find a 20A EMS unit. BTW - I don't understand why manufacturers are still building larger RVs with 30A service. The additional cost must be less than $1000, and anyone who wants to install a second A/C unit is forced to jerry-rig something that should have been a straight forward modification.

myredracer

Langley B.C.

Senior Member

Joined: 04/27/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 07:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rickfraza wrote:

.BTW - I don't understand why manufacturers are still building larger RVs with 30A service.
Up until 2005, the NEC only required 5% of a CG/RV park to have 50 amp sites. Then in 2002, it was changed to 20%. In 2017, it was increased to 40% of CGs required to have 50 amp sites. Finding 50 amp sites can be very difficult. Some CGs and RV parks may have built above the min. code requirements such as casinos and some gov't facilities for ex.

Unless we had a larger RV, I'm quite happy with 30 amps. There's been a few times when one AC unit hasn't been quite enough but wouldn't want 50 amps and have to plug into 30 amp pedestals with adapters most of the time. I see 50 amp RVs all the time using 30 amp pedestals including very expensive large MHs. One thing for sure, you won't find dealers or RV manufacturers telling potential buyers that 50 amps may be hard to find.

* This post was edited 07/14/19 07:55pm by myredracer *

CA Traveler

The Western States

Senior Member

Joined: 01/03/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 08:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rickfraza wrote:

I understand that the 50A service actually provides 2 legs of 120V (L0-L1 & L0-L2) @ 30A and this is why I asked if using the 50A pedestal outlet would be a better option than plugging into the 20A outlet.
The 50A service is 50A on each leg at 120V or 50A at 240V or a combination of both 120V and 240V not to exceed 50A on either leg. Very few RVs have 240 appliances.

I have not been able to find a 20A EMS unit.
The 30A EMS will work. They ignore amps except for the display.

BTW - I don't understand why manufacturers are still building larger RVs with 30A service. The additional cost must be less than $1000, and anyone who wants to install a second A/C unit is forced to jerry-rig something that should have been a straight forward modification.
The buyers don't want to pay for something they are clueless about.


MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/14/19 09:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Manufacturers asssssssssssume or refuse to ponder the fact that a customer would buy their product and -not- drive it to a power pedestal where it will spend the rest of its life connected until the wrecker comes for the remains 15-years later.

By the way, WFCO offered me a warehouse distributorship an agreement in which said if I purchased 50 units annually the price would be 30% of retail but I must not under any circumstances sell the unit retail. This meant a -70% discount. Out the window and into the dumpster.

I did get OEM pink sheet on Dometic primarily for their FC540 chest freezers.

htwheelz67

orange county

Senior Member

Joined: 11/16/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/15/19 11:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I added one to my fs3000 ww, it was already wired but there was no space in the panel for an additional breaker, so I added a small circuit breaker box with 10g pigtail, it was also wired for another outlet next to my 30A plug so I added one for use with the genny, I use a 50a ext cable plugged into a splitter that gives me a 30A rv plug and a 20 amp regular plug, it works perfect and I can still use my 30A cord if there is no 50A available. I cut my long 30A cord and made an ext cord out of it, the 50a ext cord goes right up to the trailer then splits at that point. one last point, I had to replace my existing ac as well so I bought 2 of the Dometic Brisk Air II High Efficiency ac's which only pull 11.4 amps and can be used with a 15a breaker. you can easily run 2 of a 4k genny.




[image]
[image]

* This post was edited 07/15/19 11:44pm by htwheelz67 *

dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/16/19 06:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

myredracer wrote:

rickfraza wrote:

.BTW - I don't understand why manufacturers are still building larger RVs with 30A service.
Up until 2005, the NEC only required 5% of a CG/RV park to have 50 amp sites. Then in 2002, it was changed to 20%. In 2017, it was increased to 40% of CGs required to have 50 amp sites. Finding 50 amp sites can be very difficult. Some CGs and RV parks may have built above the min. code requirements such as casinos and some gov't facilities for ex.

Unless we had a larger RV, I'm quite happy with 30 amps. There's been a few times when one AC unit hasn't been quite enough but wouldn't want 50 amps and have to plug into 30 amp pedestals with adapters most of the time. I see 50 amp RVs all the time using 30 amp pedestals including very expensive large MHs. One thing for sure, you won't find dealers or RV manufacturers telling potential buyers that 50 amps may be hard to find.


COST, Plain and simple. Just like when Car dealers advertise a CHEAP entry level Auto at the cannot believe the price. They order those cars with NO AC systems. Drops the cost and then they attempt to get you to upgrade to the higher price car. This is not Bait and switch. They DO HAVE the car as advertised, just not with the normal required equipment. Look at various posts on this forum where people have large RV's that have both 30 and 50 amp. The ones with 50 amp and over 28 foot long and have 1 AC unit complain that the unit cannot keep the unit cold when it is hot outside. The Dealer ordered that unit with 1 AC to keep the cost lower. Units with 30 amp service with 1 AC are built and sold to keep that advertised price a few thousands dollars less than the competition. Manufacturers do NOT dictate this. It is the Local dealers that drive the practice. Doug

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Add second air conditioner to 30 amp RV
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.