Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Need help, upgrading Dometic Analog Thermostat to Digital
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Need help, upgrading Dometic Analog Thermostat to Digital

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
out_west

Idaho

New Member

Joined: 07/17/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/18/19 01:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Chris Bryant wrote:

out_west wrote:

Chris Bryant wrote:

Old-Biscuit wrote:

My current wiring setup on my analog is:
1. Red wire +7.5 volts ------NOT USED (Cap/tape off)
2. Yellow Wire to Cool -----to A/C ("Y")
3. White Wire to Furnace ---to Furnace ("W")
4. Blue Wire to Hi Fan ---High Fan ("G")
5. Orange Wire to Low Fan ---Low Fan (Cap/Tape off)
6. Black Wire to Ground ----TO 'RC/RH' jumpered terminal


This, with the exception that you need to connect both high and low fan- the Dometic analog system switches grounds to energize the relays (not +12 vac), and the fan is two relays, low fan relay energizes the blower, hi fan relay switches between hi and low, so both must be grounded.


Chris, just trying to get clarification on this since I have to purchase another digital thermostat to try now that I'm finally getting somewhere with using the ground instead of the +7.5 red wire.

1. So if I jumper both Low and High wires together, the fan will work in high mode?


Yes

Quote:

2. If I were just to connect to the High wire, the fan will not blow without also jumpering to the Low)?


Correct

Quote:

3. What if I were just to connect to the Low, the fan would work in Low?


Yes- the low turns the fan on, the high just switches between high and low. They did this so there is no way both high and low can be energized at the same time

Quote:

4. I wasn't planning too initially, but can I run a switch like others have done to still get Low and High speed fan control?


Yes- it will be a simple spst switch just connecting the high and low together.

Quote:

Thanks for any clarification....


No problem [emoticon]


Thanks for the response Chris. Very helpful......

out_west

Idaho

New Member

Joined: 07/17/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/18/19 01:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have one more question if anybody might know the answer. I tried the Coleman Airxcel 8330-3362 digital thermostat (before knowing about the ground) which is for RV's (it is not a home thermostat). The Coleman does not run off batteries (like the home ones), and connects using 6 wires just like my Analog does. The plus about the Coleman is it already has a fan low and high setting.

Do you guys know if the Coleman would work in my setup if I swapped the red hot wire, and ground wire positions? Or is that going to piss off the thermostat itself?

Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 07/18/19 01:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don’t think it will work, as I believe Coleman internally jumpers the +12 vac to what should be the RC and RW terminals, which need to be ground.
Not 100% though- it might me able to be modified. You can get thermostats with 2 stage capability, though I’ve never hooked one up.


-- Chris Bryant
My RV Service Blog
The RV.net Blog

out_west

Idaho

New Member

Joined: 07/17/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/24/19 09:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Just wanted to thank everyone for their help. I installed a Hunter model 44157 digital thermostat and wired it up like you guys stated with the ground being the power wire, and both the Low and High wires plugged into the G (Fan) connection on the thermostat. Both the AC and heater work just fine. May at some point wire in the switch to have both Low and High fan speeds, but it isn't a big deal to me right now.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/24/19 11:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dometic does make a single zone digital thermostat and requires a new control box in the ceiling. Hi/Lo fan is selectable or automatic. Not programmable.

https://www.rvpartscountry.com/Dometic-3........-Thermostat-with-Control-Kit-Polar-White


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Need help, upgrading Dometic Analog Thermostat to Digital
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS