cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Time to pick your brains about anti sway bars ...

L8173
Explorer
Explorer
It's probably here already, but I'll ask anyway. I recently purchased an ATC 8.5X25 bedroom. I've yet to take possession because the dealer said that I need an Anderson Anti-sway hitch for it. Having not pulled something this large (30' and to end), I was reluctant to say no. First, I was told that this $750 hitch was necessary due to how large the trailer hitch is. Is this true? Meaning, are there others available? Secondly, I'm pulling with a 2019 F250 with a 6.7 diesel. Is the anti say bar/hitch really necessary? Obviously I'm a novice, so be kind, lol. Any input appreciated.
14 REPLIES 14

2001400ex
Explorer
Explorer
I thought the 17 and up super duty didn't need weight distributing hitch because the way they designed the receiver. I know that was something Ford advertised.
2017 Forest River Stealth SA2816
2020 GMC Denali 3500 Duramax
Anderson ultimate fifth wheel hitch

L8173
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for all of the knowledge and input. We brought the toy hauler home, Anderson weight distribution and anti sway assembly worked perfectly. I say that because I had no issues. Passed by several semis going much faster than me, lol, and no issues. Only about a 15 mph wind. but again, it was fine.

Dirtclods
Explorer
Explorer
Your truck will pull it just fine. The anti sway bar/hitch is a good safety measure if and when you come across windy areas and you will.
AAA Motorcycle RV Plus

dedmiston
So L8173?

What did you end up with? Have you brought your new hauler home yet?

2014 RAM 3500 Diesel 4x4 Dually long bed. B&W RVK3600 hitch โ€ข 2015 Crossroads Elevation Homestead Toy Hauler ("The Taj Mahauler") โ€ข <\br >Toys:

• 18 Can Am Maverick x3
  • 05 Yamaha WR450
  • 07 Honda CRF250X
  • 05 Honda CRF230
  • 06 Honda CRF230

dedmiston
Stepping in as a moderator to give my opinion: