cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Travel Trailer antenna coax

mosseater
Explorer
Explorer
I have very little experience with coax cables in general, so my frame of reference is limited here. My cable conductor (inner wire) broke off and is jammed into the antenna (Winegard standard Sensar) and I've decided to replace the head with the updated version instead of messing around trying to replace the male plug in. The problem is, I have to crimp another end on the cable to attach to the new head and the cable does not fit the crimp sleeve that came with the tool. The coax which comes from the box in the entertainment center to the roof antenna is slim and won't slide over the crimp sleeve as necessary to hold it in place. The inner sleeve on the new end won't fit down inside the coax outer cover with the shield wires folded back.

Are there many different sized coax crimp ends? I thought it was a standardized thing but appears not.

If I decided to run a new cable, are there outdoor grades, or will any coax work? I already have a new extension cable but can find nowhere on the package where it mentions if it's for outdoor use.

Thoughts? Another 10min job turned into an excursion in frustration. Thanks for any insights.
"It`s not important that you know all the answers, it`s only important to know where to get all the answers" Arone Kleamyck
"...An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it." Col. Jeff Cooper
Sunset Creek 298 BH
9 REPLIES 9

Tom_M1
Explorer
Explorer
Here's a link to an article by Chris Bryant about maintenance of the Batwing antenna and how to install an F connector:
https://web.archive.org/web/20130814121735/http://blog.rv.net/2008/06/tech-tune-up-your-tv-antenna
Tom
2005 Born Free 24RB
170ah Renogy LiFePo4 drop-in battery 400 watts solar
Towing 2016 Mini Cooper convertible on tow dolly
Minneapolis, MN

mosseater
Explorer
Explorer