cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Non-binding Tow Bar

bsheet2
Explorer
Explorer
Sorry if this duplicates previous posts. I looked and searched but did not see one. I am new to this though.

In reading I see it is beneficial to have a tow bar that does not bind so it is easy to remove. The Blue Ox Alfa says it is non-binding. But some reviews say it still binds when dingy is not level with the RV.

What is your experience with the Alpha ??? I would rather pay a bit more for and make sure I get it right if needed.

Will tow a 2014 Honda CRV front drive.
9 REPLIES 9

reddog_tollers
Explorer
Explorer
just purchased 98 tj for toad ,driving 24 ft class c mb sprinter, need tow bar, base plate for jeep,suplimental brake system .From my research im thinking of blue ox tow bar, stay and play brakeing,blue ox base plate. Anyone currently useing these and if so your thoughts?

Hikerdogs
Explorer
Explorer
Regardless of manufacturer claims there are always some conditions that will cause a tow bar to bind. Those conditions might include attempting to disconnect when the toad is at an extreme angle to the motorhome, the toad significantly higher or lower than the motorhome, or at an extreme side to side angle from the motorhome.

That being said the non binding bars do a much better job than those that don't have that feature. The non binding feature is simply a difference in the angle that the locking caams lock into the extension rods. The non binding ones have a sloped angle on the cam and a taperd slot in the bars. The standard versions have a more square cut cam and square cut slot in the bars.