Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Chrome won't run.. fix
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Chrome won't run.. fix

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/19 03:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Since the latest W10 upgade, I've been having trouble with Chrome. It fails to run.

Last few mornings I'd click the icon and nothing would happen. Reboot.. no help. So I fired up Bing and reinstalled Chrome. That worked, but it said 'Chrome didn't shut down correctly.' No, that's not true.

Today, same problem. I downloaded it again, told it to Run, but nothing. After some search time I found a help page saying that it may already be running. I ran Task Manager and found 6 instances already running. Killed them all, and everything is fine again. Not sure why it ran in the background.

Not sure if this will keep happening, but I thought I'd pass this along in case anyone else is having issues.

AsheGuy

Raleigh, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 11/15/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/07/19 04:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman wrote:

Since the latest W10 upgade, I've been having trouble with Chrome. It fails to run.

Last few mornings I'd click the icon and nothing would happen. Reboot.. no help. So I fired up Bing and reinstalled Chrome. That worked, but it said 'Chrome didn't shut down correctly.' No, that's not true.

Today, same problem. I downloaded it again, told it to Run, but nothing. After some search time I found a help page saying that it may already be running. I ran Task Manager and found 6 instances already running. Killed them all, and everything is fine again. Not sure why it ran in the background.

Not sure if this will keep happening, but I thought I'd pass this along in case anyone else is having issues.
Chrome runs multiple processes intentionally, it's a feature. Check this article. I get somewhere over 20 processes every time I open Chrome.

I haven't experienced your problem, but I don't think the problem is related to the multiple Chrome processes. On edit: Well it might be if you have a low RAM PC.

* This post was edited 08/07/19 04:41pm by AsheGuy *


David & Margaret - 2005 LTV 210B 3S
- Our Blog -



Latner

Indiana

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2006

View Profile



Posted: 08/07/19 04:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I fixed my chrome issues by dumping it and installing Mozilla Firefox.

wildtoad

Blythewood, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 06/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/07/19 05:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’ve dumped Windows and have very few issues.


Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004

bob213

Fresno, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/09/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/07/19 07:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

misread op.........

* This post was edited 08/07/19 10:23pm by bob213 *


You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality – Ayn Rand


pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/19 10:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

20ldman,

Keep us posted! Thanks in advance.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

sch911

Rochester Hills, MI

Senior Member

Joined: 04/13/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 08/08/19 08:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wildtoad wrote:

I’ve dumped Windows and have very few issues.


I dumped Windows (for Mac) a long time ago, but still use Chrome!


OEM Auto Engineer- Embedded Software Team
09 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 41SKQ Cummins ISL
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited Toad


pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/08/19 09:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I dumped mac for windows. But this thread is about chrome which runs on multiple platforms.

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/08/19 09:22am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ran fine today.

Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 08/08/19 11:40am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

On my Linux installs, there’s a setting “keep Chrome running in the background” that you can uncheck.

I’d switch to Firefox in a heartbeat if it had an iOS version.


-- Chris Bryant

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Chrome won't run.. fix
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.