Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

30 amp plug question

thiefsnip3r
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone,
I purchase my first travel trailer the other day so I'm very new to owning one and maintenance. I noticed where the plug is located on my trailer the door panel says it is a 30 amp plug 110 service. The cord is a 110 cord not a 30amp plug. I asked the person i bought it from and he said the original owner of the trailer did this.
The previous owner said he never used the AC unit (which i believe is the only reason for the 30amp plug). I was wanting to be able to use the AC. Is it as much as cutting the cord and attaching a 30amp cord end on? (it looks like this was done previously as the 110 cord has an abundance of electrical tape on the cable already in a location.
15 REPLIES 15

myredracer
Explorer II
Explorer II
It looks like a 30 amp cord could possibly get hung on the 4x4 junction when you push the cord all the way in. Maybe relocate the box to one side a bit if you have enough of the #10 romex to work with. But it's a bit hard to tell from the pics.

dodge_guy
Explorer
Explorer
Yes pick up a 30A RV cord. To make it somewhat easy you can buy a 30A RV extension cord, cut off the female end and wire it into the junction box. They sell them at most home improvement stores. I know Menards does.
Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
Looks as though some one has made a shore power cord out of a standard 15/20 amp extension cord.
You should replace as indicated by myRedracer! The cord he shows will go through the hole to the metal junction box. My 18 inch suggestion does not appear to be long enough.

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

LoudRam
Explorer
Explorer