cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

DC operation of fridge

Saskhunter
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVs and notice while driving my truck does not charge my Northern Lite truck camper battery. Is this normal? Within 4 hours the fridge kills my RV deep cycle Battery.
Is it ok to travel using the gas for the fridge?
16 REPLIES 16

Kayteg1
Explorer
Explorer
When you say "I live in a trailer" the following question usually is
"single, or double wide?"
When you say "I live in a camper" the following question often is
"do you have engine in the rear, or front?"

burningman
Explorer
Explorer
Saskhunter wrote:
Thanks to everyone, I have learned a lot about my trailer today.

Next lesson, you donโ€™t have a trailer, you have a truck camper ๐Ÿ™‚
2017 Northern Lite 10-2 EX CD SE
99 Ram 4x4 Dually Cummins
A whole lot more fuel, a whole lot more boost.
4.10 gears, Gear Vendors overdrive, exhaust brake
Built auto, triple disc, billet shafts.
Kelderman Air Ride, Helwig sway bar.

otrfun
Explorer II
Explorer II
Saskhunter wrote:
I am new to RVs and notice while driving my truck does not charge my Northern Lite truck camper battery. Is this normal? Within 4 hours the fridge kills my RV deep cycle Battery . . .
I assume you were running your fridge on DC (including the boiler) with one battery? If that's the case, your fridge was probably drawing ~20 amps of 12 vdc plus any current being used to power anything else you may have had on in your camper while driving. The wiring on many trucks are only capable of supplying 8-10 amps of current to the 7-pin connector on the camper. That leaves you with a 10+ amp deficit. That's enough current drain to run one 12 vdc 24/27 battery down to 50% in approx. 3-5 hours. Bottom line, your truck was very likely supplying 8-10 amps of current to your camper. However, that wasn't enough current to keep up with the ~20 amps the fridge was using---thus a discharged battery in ~4 hours.

ajriding
Explorer
Explorer