Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My first post - I'm new to trailers and need some input

atexintx
Explorer
Explorer
I need some help on estimating travel expenses and more -
I’m a bean counter by profession and cash flow projections are my expertise and, yet, I need some input for estimating some expenses based upon the assumptions below:
Assumptions:
I’ll be pulling a 16’-17’’ trailer with my 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan, GTW=3,600 lbs.
This limits me to a trailer empty weight of about 2,900 lbs.
I plan to travel alone except for my Chihuahua.
We plan to live in our trailer year round, traveling about 18-25 days each month with some mountain traveling but flat land otherwise.
My Caravan normally gets about 28 mpg on the road; otherwise about 18 mpg around town.
I’m expecting to get about 10 mpg? pulling my trailer.
Questions:
(I know the answer to most of these may be “it depends” in which case just assume “a little bit of this and a little bit of that” (if this makes any sense).
1. How much extra per year can I expect to pay for trailer vehicle expense? I’m with State Farm for the Caravan.
2. What can I expect to pay per night on average for overnight camping while traveling our great highways and byways (Remember – I know “it depends” – but …).
3. Where and how would I find cable and Internet connections – (1) most every camping spot, (2) some camping spots, (3) a few camping spots?
4. Are there any “best practices” when it comes to being on the electric/Internet grid as we travel?
5. How much can I expect to pay per month for cable and Internet (I have a telephone and Internet-based business)?
6. If I’m in an area with spotty cell phone reception, would a phone system like OOMA be a good option? Otherwise, I use Skype.
7. Would AT&T help me with options for doing quick charges on my cell phone that does not require electricity (or is there any such thing).