Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Travel Trailers: Newbies
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> Newbies

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
pooretravelers

Tennessee

View Profile

Posted: 08/30/19 12:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello Everyone!! My hubster and I are complete newbies to the RV world. We are looking to purchase a travel trailer in the next couple of months and start out a little slow so we can get acclimated to RVing before we jump in full force (his idea not mine).
I know this is a general question (and I am getting ready to hit the FAQs) but... what are some of the top questions to ask dealers when looking and getting ready to purchase our first travel trailer?
We don't want to go in unprepared and either leave with more than we need or less than what is required. It will just be the two of us traveling, no pets and no children. We have a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 and know how much we are able to tow (8400 lbs).
Any advice is welcome!!
Thanks!!

kellem

Shenandoah valley,VA

View Profile

Posted: 08/30/19 01:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You should be fine picking out a nice trailer for the two of you with the full size truck but pay more attention to the trailers GVWR and pay no mind to it's dry weight.

I always recommend a weight distribution hitch with antisway.

Good luck in your search.

SoundGuy

S Ontario

View Profile

Posted: 08/30/19 02:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pooretravelers wrote:

We have a 2006 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 and know how much we are able to tow (8400 lbs).
Any advice is welcome!!