Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Cost of installation for antenna
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

> Cost of installation for antenna

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 10/10/19 01:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Gonzo42 wrote:

I do appreciate your input. Buying is some time away as of now.

I assume the installation is about the same amount of work and cost.

Is there any data available regarding sensitivity of either unit? I see no specs on the W website. As an Electronic Engineer, I pay attention to specs.

Also you say the poweer up is several minutes (OK) any idea for the setup time on a dome unit? Minor issue.

If you go with an in motion dome it is always setup. It puts itself to sleep after you stop for more than a few minutes and wakes back up when you move. A stationary only dome takes 3-4 minutes to get itself set.
Installation of a Trav'ler takes more time (maybe an extra 30-60 minutes.
As to sensitivity. Imagine an antenna that is about 12" round compared to an antenna that is 18"x24" and you will understand the difference between a dome and a Trav'ler. Additionally, when it rains or there is dew on the dome, the reception of the antenna inside the dome will be greatly reduced. An open face antenna has no such limitation.

What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

Gonzo42

California

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 10/11/19 08:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good info, Bill. Thanx.