Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Complete newbie needs help
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Complete newbie needs help

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Prev  |  Next
Cornstalk

Illinois

View Profile

Posted: 10/07/19 07:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

He gave me that bar that goes into a receiver hitch. There are eye hooks at each end to attach the tie downs to. Before I left for Minnesota he asked me if I had a receiver hitch and I said yes. I thought since I had a ball hitch I had a receiver hitch. Now I know what they are. That is why I had to use ratchet straps coming home.

Also, as I was pulling out of his pole barn, the camper made a loud screeching noise constantly. Found out the bed area was sitting on the lights on top of my cab. So I slept at Walmart and the next day went to a lumber yard for plywood to lift my TC off my lights.

[image]

The other pic is of the cubby in my camper that goes to my truck bed. I'll go see what that cord is.

[image]

GoinThisAway

middle TN

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 10/07/19 07:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You're already accumulating some truck camper stories ... ha! ha! The OSB board will work but its heavy and will suck up water. You might be able to build up the bottom of the camper as some have done on here. Another option is closed cell foam board like the blue foam sheet at Lowes. It has the advantage of being light and even adds insulation to the bottom. Put it under the rubber mat though to keep the camper from tearing it up if it does slide. I've used one under my 3000+ lb camper for years now.

Cornstalk

Illinois

View Profile