cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Winter Camping - Golf Cart

Mamakat35
Explorer
Explorer
Hello! I am new to seasonal camping and have one season behind me. This summer we purchased a club car golf cart, electric, and now that it is coming into the winter months Iโ€™m not sure how to proceed. Our campground is a 12 season campground and I enjoy going up to the mountains and camping in the dead of winterโ€ฆ I love the solitude! However, Iโ€™m on sure about the care of a golf cart over the winter months. Do I need to take the batteries out and store them? Or is it like A car that as long as I started up every couple of weeks I should be OK? I do go up to the campground approximately two Dash three times a month. Iโ€™m not sure whether people do anything with the golf courts over the winter monthsโ€ฆ Any advice?

~Heidi
14 REPLIES 14

Cecilt
Explorer
Explorer
Mamakat35 wrote:
Thanks for all the good advice...
As far as the battery tender.. a golf cart has 6 batteries so Iโ€™d need 6 tenders..... not convenient.
Iโ€™m pretty adept at the winter camping otherwise... just never has a golf cart... sounds like I should be good since it would be used/charged approx 2x /mo at least!

You're probably referencing my post. Tender is not what I was referring to. Maybe I should have said float. My charger can stay plugged in 24/7 as it floats once the batteries are fully charged. After about 28 days it kicks on automatically and brings them up to charge. My last charger did not work this way. My old one you would have to unplug once they were charged and then plug in after 20 days as it did not have the float capability.

Get a good battery charger that has float and no need for extra tenders etc.

John_Joey
Explorer
Explorer
Mamakat35 wrote:
Yes it would!! Thank you very much!!

CC are 36 or 48 volt. Make sure you buy the correct one.
Thereโ€™s no fool, like an old fool.

Mamakat35
Explorer
Explorer
Yes it would!! Thank you very much!!

Lynnmor