cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here. Maybe wrong forum but here goes.

2big
Explorer
Explorer
Mods feel free to move this thread if it's in wrong category.
(oh, please let me know if you do) 😉

Okay, I'm not a COMPLETE newb as I had a Toyota v-6 mini back in the 80's that we drove satisfactorily across the country.

Now I am "contemplating" diving in again. Maybe. Very senior. Active but close to 80. :@

I believe it would be a Class C as I don't want to drive a bus.

Priorities are:
Ease of handling
Small enough to handle larger city streets easily
2 beds (small is OK but we don't do well in same one)
Enough water to take showers
Fuel economy would be a minor concern but still....

Should I look for new or used? I tend to "used" as this is sorta an initial foray into the unknown.

Do "certified" RV dealers exist?

Fire away with any help.
Just today the idea of renting one for a week prior to decision might be wise.
Agree or disagree?

Thanks all.
13 REPLIES 13

Gjac
Explorer III
Explorer III
Being over 70 myself I would look at a 24 ft Class C with a full wall slide and a 18-24 ft TT with a slide. I would not want a corner bed especially if you have knee or hip arthritis. The short C's with a full wall slide such as the Chateau 24FE will have a queen bed and a bed overhead. Most of the small C's only have about 40 gals of FW and minimal storage compared to an A. A small TT will give you more FW 50-80 gals if you want to dry camp at NP's or SP's and more storage. Another benefit with a TT when not using it to camp you will have the truck to use as a second vehicle. The C will just sit most of the time in your yard or storage area. If you think you will use it more of the time and need more room then look at something like a Thor Vegas which will be about 25-27 ft, some have twin beds and some have full wall slides. Good luck in your search.

MintDice
Explorer
Explorer