Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Yamaha Generator question
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

> Yamaha Generator question

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
EnzoColorado

Colorado

View Profile

Posted: 12/09/19 11:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm brand new to using generators.

A few months ago I bought a new Yamaha EF2000ISV2 generator. When I hooked it up to my travel trailer and try to run the microwave, the light in the microwave flickers and I can hear the sound from the microwave is lower and fluctuate compared to when connected to a outlet. I tried both the smart throttle setting and the full setting, both result in the same thing. I also noticed when the microwave is on, the generator's motor's pitch and frequency seems to be lower. The microwave also doesn't seem to heat up food much. Is there something wrong with the generator or am I not using it correctly? n

2017 Starcraft AR-ONE MAXX 20BHLE
2010 Suburban 1500 4WD 5.3L V8, 6L80, 4.10

ScottG

Bothell Wa.

View Profile

Posted: 12/09/19 11:13am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The micro and battery charger (if batts are down) both have large inrushes of current upon startup. Gen is working hard so what you see is to be expected.
I would monitor the voltage to make sure it doens't dip too much, which will kill the mocro.

Scott, Grace and Wesly
2003 Dodge 3500 4x4, 6 speed Cummins.
2018 Silver Fox 32A.
H0NDA eu2000i

2oldman

New Mexico

View Profile

Posted: 12/09/19 11:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Depends on what else is on at the same time.

opnspaces

San Diego Ca

View Profile