Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: GM Trans Temp Gauge Install?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > GM Trans Temp Gauge Install?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
FunTwoDrv

NC

Senior Member

Joined: 11/16/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/12/19 08:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm interested in installing a temp gauge in our 6L90e transmission. Has anyone done this?
I'm struggling with where to place the sending unit. This trans doesn't appear to have a "test port" so, it looks like either I weld a bung on the pan or splice it in the return line.
Any thoughts or experience?

Gary

MDKMDK

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2008

View Profile



Posted: 12/12/19 08:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Perhaps check with a nearby GM dealership for assistance - it's a GM transmission.


Mike.
2018 (2017 Sprinter Cab Chassis) Navion24V + 2016 JKU (sold @ ????)
2016 Sunstar 26HE, V10, 3V, 6 Speed (sold @ 4600 miles)
2002 Roadtrek C190P (sold @ 315,000kms)

Egor'sRV

Port Neches,TX,USA

New Member

Joined: 03/14/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/12/19 08:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

On my vehicles, when I service the trans and remove the pan, I have always drilled a hole and welded in a bung hole to fit the sender.

Two things though: 1) make sure of position clearance so it doesn't touch anything in the trans, and 2) always put the sender in the pan, not in any return or send lines to the radiator. Only way to get accurate and true trans temp.

Good luck,
Egor


"Of all the things I have lost during my lifetime, I miss my mind the most."

FunTwoDrv

NC

Senior Member

Joined: 11/16/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/12/19 08:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MDKMDK, Yeah I neglected to mention the GM dealer I worked with recently wasn't any help as the only "GM" solution is to enable the trans temp function in the information screen. Unfortunately, our particular configuration omitted this feature. I asked them to program it in but, they explained they could, or would, not do it as all they can do is reprogram existing functionality. They actually did this when they replaced the body control module and the instrument cluster... both of which we paid for! And even at that, they would not install the trans temp feature.
The nearest GM dealer that will work on a RV is 105mi from us.
Gary

BarryG20

Castle Rock, Colorado

Senior Member

Joined: 07/14/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/12/19 08:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

While I am unfamiliar with this particular transmission I know on others I have had in the past that I wanted to put a gauge on if it didnt have a port in the pan for it like a maghytec etc pan, or test port on the trans I would splice into the hot line using either a compression type fitting with a 1/8 npt port on it or just cut a section of the hardline out and replace with rubber line and use double hose clamps with a 1/8 npt fitting. Never had an issue doing it that way.

doing a very quick search similar to this but using the appropriate fittings whether barbed or compression or even if possible at the connection point of the hard line then there is no real "splice" in the line just have to find out what that connection spec is ie jic, npt, etc assuming there is enough space for the sender at that location which many times there is not.

https://www.pegasusautoracing.com/productdetails.asp?RecID=906


2016 Jayco 28.5 RLTS

MDKMDK

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2008

View Profile



Posted: 12/12/19 08:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

FunTwoDrv wrote:

MDKMDK, Yeah I neglected to mention the GM dealer I worked with recently wasn't any help as the only "GM" solution is to enable the trans temp function in the information screen. Unfortunately, our particular configuration omitted this feature. I asked them to program it in but, they explained they could, or would, not do it as all they can do is reprogram existing functionality. They actually did this when they replaced the body control module and the instrument cluster... both of which we paid for! And even at that, they would not install the trans temp feature.
The nearest GM dealer that will work on a RV is 105mi from us.
Gary

Depending on the year of the vehicle/transmission, and if you have an OBD II diagnostic port available, you might be able to find and program a transmission temperature X-Gauge that will work with an after market scanner like the Scangauge II. However, if the trans/temp info isn't produced by the ECM or the engine's software/computer, then that won't work. Sorry, I can't be more help.

FunTwoDrv

NC

Senior Member

Joined: 11/16/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/12/19 09:23am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks for the input. I've debated the X-Gauge solution but need to do more investigation to confirm it is capable of displaying the temp. Short to that, I guess an in-line connection or drill and weld a bung on the existing pan are my options. Also looking at a B&M cast aluminum pan and tapping it for a drain plug and sending unit.
I'm planning to pull the pan off after the holidays to do a fluid/filter change so, I can figure out what to do then. By the way, this is for a 2015 Chevy 4500 chassis with the 6L90e transmission.

Gary

MDKMDK

Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2008

View Profile



Posted: 12/12/19 09:29am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

FunTwoDrv wrote:

Thanks for the input. I've debated the X-Gauge solution but need to do more investigation to confirm it is capable of displaying the temp. Short to that, I guess an in-line connection or drill and weld a bung on the existing pan are my options. Also looking at a B&M cast aluminum pan and tapping it for a drain plug and sending unit.
I'm planning to pull the pan off after the holidays to do a fluid/filter change so, I can figure out what to do then. By the way, this is for a 2015 Chevy 4500 chassis with the 6L90e transmission.

Gary

There may be an X-Gauge for you....
GM X-Gauges

You'd have to figure out which protocol and type/group of gauges will work for you, but there are plenty of options.
Transmission temperature seems to be a popular option/gauge.

Kamphiker

South Florida (this 'aint paradise anymore)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/09/2002

View Profile



Posted: 12/13/19 08:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Was there an option on any of the same chassis from GM with an option for a Trans Temp Guage in the cluster ?

Will a cluster from a 2500 or 3500 series Pickup truck be the same for fit & harness connection?

I had a 2001 Yukon 1500 series and bought a cluster from a 2500 series (it fit both GM SUV's & Pickups, that had the HD tow package and the trans temp guage was built in. it was a 5 minute swap out and Plug & play.

I also had a scan guage plugged into the OBD port for added information.

I no longer have the Yukon But still use the same Scangage in my 2006 Ford E350 Motorhome and Trans Temp is one of the 4 dispalys i use all the time.


2006 Winnebago Outlook WF324V
2009 Honda CR-V 2wd TOAD ......Campgrounds in the Smoky Mountains NP
Last Camping trip ->2011 SUMMER SMOKY MOUNTAINS NATIONAL PARK


pushtoy 2

texas

Full Member

Joined: 02/06/2018

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 08:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

FunTwoDrv wrote:

I'm interested in installing a temp gauge in our 6L90e transmission. Has anyone done this?
I'm struggling with where to place the sending unit. This trans doesn't appear to have a "test port" so, it looks like either I weld a bung on the pan or splice it in the return line.
Any thoughts or experience?

Gary
buy a scan tool much ezer plug it into the computer port under the steering wheel. it will read all the temps meany speed shops have them.


DREAMER ">

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes  >  Class C

 > GM Trans Temp Gauge Install?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.