Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Atwood Thermostat HFH2000
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Atwood Thermostat HFH2000

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
K Mac

Lower Hudson Valley N.Y.

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 11:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Went to do a little work in TC and when I turned on the heat I found out there isn't any, I last used TC in Oct. and heater was working fine. Everything else in TC is AOK including A/C(lol). I've researched all I could on trouble shooting to no avail. Is it time for a new thermostat or can you tell me a way to bypass so I know it's my problem and YES the gas is on, TIA,K Mac

Kayteg1

California > Nevada

Senior Member

Joined: 06/18/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 11:14am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Year and picture of thermostat?
Most of thermostats are just switches, so jumping the 2 wires will bypass it.





Flute Man

Payson, Arizona

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 11:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would make sure that you have good 12 V power going to the furnace.
The thermostat would be the last thing that I would suspect.


Jerry Parr
05 Mandalay 40B
Cat C7 350
04 Honda CR-V
Ham Radio K7OU
Retired EE
[email protected]
602-321-8141
Full-timer

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 12/13/19 11:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Open thermostat cover, locate the two wires, connect them together.
Furnace fan should start immediately, followed by burner in 10-20 seconds. If burner starts and produces heat, separate the wires. The furnace should go into cool down mode and shut off.
If this happens bad thermostat. If it does not problem is in furnace.


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 12:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

K Mac wrote:

Went to do a little work in TC and when I turned on the heat I found out there isn't any, I last used TC in Oct. and heater was working fine. Everything else in TC is AOK including A/C(lol). I've researched all I could on trouble shooting to no avail. Is it time for a new thermostat or can you tell me a way to bypass so I know it's my problem and YES the gas is on, TIA,K Mac




Does the furnace fan come on? Did you turn on the gas?


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

K Mac

Lower Hudson Valley N.Y.

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 03:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't know how to do pics.,I can't type fast either. It's a Attwood AFH2000,TC is 13' so 11' or 12' I would guess on Thermo.,fan does not cycle, all fusses are good. Gas is working fine for the stove. Will put elec. heater in and try the wires. Funny how I worked outdoors for 40 yrs.,now the cold n rain today makes me put it off till tomorrow. Thanks guys. Did any one go to digital, and if so which one do you like ?

ticki2

NH

Senior Member

Joined: 07/09/2008

View Profile



Posted: 12/13/19 05:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it's not the thermostat , check the plug at the furnace fora good connection .


'68 Avion C-11
'02 GMC DRW D/A flatbed

Kayteg1

California > Nevada

Senior Member

Joined: 06/18/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 06:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Don't think you will like digital.
Each time you'll try to use it - the batteries will be dead.

towpro

Compass PA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/08/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 07:01pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

yes I have switched every camper I own over to digital thermostats and loved them

but like Keyteg said, I would much rather have the 5 to 10 deg temp swing of that old mechanical switch thermometer than to worry about putting 2 new AAA batteries in my thermostat every time I refill the smoke detector. And they are so hard to find its you would never carry extras since they probably fit your TV remote as well.


Forest River Forester 2401R Mercedes Benz.

Sold: 2016 Arctic Fox 990, 2018 Ram 3500, 2011 Open Range

jimh425

Western MT

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 12/13/19 07:19pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Might be a dumb question, but did you ensure the 12V cutoff was on?


'10 Ford F-450, 6.4, 4.30, 4x4, 14,500 GVWR, '06 Host Rainer 950 Dbl Slide, Torklift Talon tiedowns, Glow Steps, and Fastguns. Bilstein 4600s, Firestone Air Bags, Hankook DH-01 225/19.5 Fs, Curt front hitch, Energy Suspension bump stops.


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

 > Atwood Thermostat HFH2000
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.