cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much water to ad to black tank when starting out.?

Spade_Cooley
Explorer
Explorer
I'm not a beginner and have never had trouble with blockage but know a number of people who have, My neighbor in this RV park is currently stopped up and had to buy a solution to dump into her tank to free it. I normally ad between 3 and 4 gallons of water and two containers of treatment to start out and have never had a problem. What is the minimum you should start out with in the black tank. Is it different while driving on a trip than when you are stationary in a park? Opinions will be respected.
39 REPLIES 39

univmd
Explorer
Explorer
We don’t pre-add water. We go to the bathroom a lot though so it never really dries out.
2008 Gulfstream Tourmaster
2011 Honda CRV
Blue Ox Baseplate & Socket Wiring
Blue Ox Alladin Tow Bar
US Gear Unified Tow Brake

jdc1
Explorer II
Explorer II
bikendan wrote:
3-5 gallons.

Correct answer (and a couple others). Use granular laundry soap once in while too, before traveling (said prior). That stuuf they sell to breakdown solid waste is useless....It's just deoderizer.

OleManOleCan
Explorer
Explorer
Second Chance wrote:
Like you, I put about 4 gallons of fresh water in the black tank after emptying - but I've never used any additives. I've also not had any issues in over four years of full-timing. Several times a year I will use the "Geo method" to clean the tanks: about 1/3 tank of clean water with some dish detergent and borax crystals before hitting the road. The agitation and solution help clean off the level sensors and get residual "stuff" off the sides of the tank(s).

Rob