Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: How much water to ad to black tank when starting out.?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

> How much water to ad to black tank when starting out.?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Spade Cooley

Mountain View, AR

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 12/13/19 11:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm not a beginner and have never had trouble with blockage but know a number of people who have, My neighbor in this RV park is currently stopped up and had to buy a solution to dump into her tank to free it. I normally ad between 3 and 4 gallons of water and two containers of treatment to start out and have never had a problem. What is the minimum you should start out with in the black tank. Is it different while driving on a trip than when you are stationary in a park? Opinions will be respected.

Second Chance

Wherever...

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 12/13/19 11:37am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Like you, I put about 4 gallons of fresh water in the black tank after emptying - but I've never used any additives. I've also not had any issues in over four years of full-timing. Several times a year I will use the "Geo method" to clean the tanks: about 1/3 tank of clean water with some dish detergent and borax crystals before hitting the road. The agitation and solution help clean off the level sensors and get residual "stuff" off the sides of the tank(s).

Rob

U.S. Army retired
2020 Solitude 310GK-R
MORryde IS and disc brakes
Solar
2012 F350 CC DRW Lariat 6.7
Full-time since 8/2015

midnightsadie

ohio

View Profile