Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Wi-Fi extenders
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Wi-Fi extenders

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Fizz

Ottawa, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/28/2003

View Profile



Posted: 12/15/19 11:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

An extender doesn't give you a stronger signal it simply extends the signal it receives. If you put it at the far end of the router signal you get nothing. If you put it where the signal is 50% it will extend that out beyond the router's range.
Or sumtin like that

missnmountains

Southwest Florida

Senior Member

Joined: 09/02/2010

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 12/15/19 12:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We have been using the PDQ Connect "Bullet" for years. It can pick up wifi and boost the signal from miles away. We use it on our RV and our Boat. My favorite feature is that it sets up a wireless network inside your RV or Boat for printing and connecting devices. Since all of our devices have logged into the PDC Wifi hub once, all I have to do is log the PDQ into the wifi signal that has the best signal. Automatically all of the other devices log on.

I believe PDQ Connect now calls the newest product PDQ Rocket.

My disclaimer as usual; the Wifi is only as good as the internet provided by the marina, campground, etc.

Ken


2016 Newmar Dutch Star 4369

Our Blog: Lawrence Adventures


3 dog nights

Central, Virginia USA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/25/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/15/19 02:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OK, let me explain the situation. (Should have done that in the original post) We have a brick & stick that is 70' long two stories over a finished basement. The router is connected to the desktop at one end of the house. We installed a home security system that has three cameras as well as the base station that are set up 40 to 60 feet away. Vendor is telling me we need the extenders to reach the cameras. I need something that I can mount 30-35 feet out that will shoot the signal another 35-40 feet. Nothing moving, all stationary targets.


Bob & Lynn
3 Chihuahua's, Ella, Gracie & Dobby

was-2013 Open Range 424RLS,06' Chevy 3500, dually, Duramax/Allison

now-2015 Winnebago Adventurer 37F, towing 2003 Jeep Wrangler

austinjenna

Columbus, Ohio

Senior Member

Joined: 03/27/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/16/19 05:10am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Maybe try a mesh type router like the google one.



2010 F350 CC Lariat 4x4 Short Bed
2011 Crusader 298BDS 5th Wheel
Reese 16K

APT

SE Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2010

View Profile



Posted: 12/18/19 11:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you for explaining further. Can you run a wired Ethernet from computer/router to an area that is closer to the cameras? I prefer and use Access Points. They provide higher bandwidth than extenders/repeaters and Mesh. They do require a wired ethernet line to each of these. I use a Ubiquiti Unifi AC Pro and AC LR which covers my 3-story home and much of my 1.3 acre lot. If you want pure wireless, then I recommend a mesh system. They are designed with very easy setup for your problem.

Another option may be to move your cable modem and router to a more central area of the house.

* This post was edited 12/18/19 11:32am by APT *


A & A parents of DD 2005, DS1 2007, DS2 2009
2011 Suburban 2500 6.0L 3.73 pulling 2011 Heartland North Trail 28BRS
2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R

Mickeyfan0805

SE Wisconsin

Senior Member

Joined: 11/26/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/18/19 11:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

APT wrote:


Another option may be to move your cable modem and router to a more central area of the house.


This was one of my thoughts. Depending on the internet source, you might be able to relocate more centrally and then simply connect everything via wifi without needing and extender.

3 dog nights

Central, Virginia USA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/25/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/19/19 12:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks everyone! Can't move the router due to my cable internet provider. I just bought a NetGear Mesh extender.......fingers crossed, I'll let you know.

Gdlow

Meridian Idaho

Senior Member

Joined: 05/03/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 12/22/19 11:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

3 dog nights wrote:

OK, let me explain the situation. (Should have done that in the original post) We have a brick & stick that is 70' long two stories over a finished basement. The router is connected to the desktop at one end of the house. We installed a home security system that has three cameras as well as the base station that are set up 40 to 60 feet away. Vendor is telling me we need the extenders to reach the cameras. I need something that I can mount 30-35 feet out that will shoot the signal another 35-40 feet. Nothing moving, all stationary targets.

I use Meshforce Mesh network, but have been around EERO, google mesh systems and they are good as well.


Gary And Cathy
'05 Dolphin 5342
Honda Element following us ">
Pacnats
GS, FMCA
"> Rallys attended
FMCA Albany, Or.'06
FMCA Redmond, Or.'07
FMCA Quartzite, Az. '10...but not again">
Good Sams "The Rally" Redmond Or. '11
FMCA Redmond August 2014
FMCA Indio, Ca 2013


Gulfcoast

Alabama

Senior Member

Joined: 07/17/2005

View Profile


Online
Posted: 12/29/19 04:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You don't have to spend big bucks to extend your wifi range. I bought a $17 no name extender on eBay and it works perfect.

My signal is all over my house, and outside to 8 camera's now.

JC2

Mo/Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 11/05/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/29/19 06:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

To the original poster: We also recommend the below listed N300.
https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Wi-Fi-Ran........xtender+Model+2700&qid=1577627595&sr=8-3



Jack_Diane_Freedom wrote:

I had a wifi signal problem in my apartment. It is a large apartment and an older building with thick concrete walls and lots of steel that blocked the signal often to the bedroom where my computers are. Main modem is in living room as it is the only place it can be placed because of the wiring set up in a concrete building. I purchased an Netgear N300 Wifi Range Extender Model 2700. Problem solved. Just plug it in closer to computer and it amplifies the signal (not band width) and now have full signal and works superbly well. Sets up easily (one button to press to pick up signal and done). About $27.00 Cdn. from Amazon Highly recommend.



2010 Newmar Dutch Aire 4304,Cummins ISL 425hp,Spartan MM Chassis,2013 Chev Equinox AWD Towed,Ready Brute Elite TowBar/Brake,FMCA #402879,SKP#120487

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Wi-Fi extenders
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.