Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Looking for a camper
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Camping World RV Sales

Open Roads Forum  >  Camping World RV Sales

> Looking for a camper

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
tfeaux

Denver

View Profile

Posted: 12/26/19 11:00am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello,

I am new to the RV life. My wife and I are planning to do some camping in the near future. We are looking for a camper that has a bathroom and under or near 2000 pounds. Does such a thing exist?

Lwiddis

Monterey, CA

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 12/26/19 11:49am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

By camper do you mean a travel trailer? If so, after loading with your stuff, batteries, fresh water and propane, you'll be well over that number. Even a popup tent trailer will be 2250 pounds or so dry and unloaded with NO potty, sink or shower.

See https://www.thorindustries.com/find-my-rv/guided/tow/heavy-duty-truck/sleeps-1/lightweight-camper

Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)

Yosemite Sam1

Under the pines.

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 12/26/19 12:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Why 2,000, is it a limitation of tow vehicle capability?

I don't know how updated I am with RV space management, but I seem to recall decent bathroom comes at 3,500 lbs and above. And even that, you might have to sit to take a shower if you have 6 ft or above, lol.

Merrykalia

Appalachian (apple at chun) Mtn in the GREAT SW Va

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member