Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: September 2020 Suggestions/Advice
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in RV Parks, Campgrounds and Attr...

Open Roads Forum  >  RV Parks, Campgrounds and Attractions

> September 2020 Suggestions/Advice

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
padredw

East Texas

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 01/13/20 07:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Quote:

Badlands/Blackhills; Great Sand dunes, Buena Vista area, Mesa Verde Colorado.

I will make a few comments about this choice of routes as I have extensive experience with most of it. I'l give some specific possibilities.

For the first days drive from central Texas you could go to either Caprock Canyon State Park (about 370 miles from Waco) or, if you only want an overnight convenient spot, to Ole Town Cotton Gin RV at Goodlett, Texas (about 290 miles). For the second day you could drive to Raton Pass, NM where there is a very nice overnight now called Raton Pass RV Park (about 350 miles from previous stop).

Great Sand Dunes is only 128 miles from Raton Pass, but I would suggest the possibility that you leave early and make Sand Dunes a day stop and drive on to Buena Vista for a late afternoon arrive the same day. After all it is only 100 miles on from Sand Dunes--a couple of hours.