Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Towing what is safe to tow with 2012 Tahoe

dystonic
Explorer
Explorer
Hi All,

I'm new to towing. Been learning quite a bit reading posts here and there. This community is great.

I have a 2012 Chevy Tahoe that is equipped with the Heavy Duty Trailering package. I want to list out some numbers and see what you think would be a good weight to tow safely.

GVWR = 7,300
Curb Weight = 5,567
I expect around 500lbs additional payload (wife, 4 kids under 10).
Max Towing Capacity (8,200) based on Chevy's specs with the HD Tow Package.

From what I've gathered reading here is that payload is really going to be my restricting factor. I don't want to max out anything. I've been looking at trailers under 4,000 dry (5,100 GVWR), with a length of around 25 feet.

I know bigger is always better when it comes to tow vehicles, but want to get your thoughts. Thanks!
8 REPLIES 8

Curly2001
Explorer
Explorer
Like other people said, you can pull it but the ideal situation would be to have a 3:73 in the differential. I am guessing you have a 3:42 in there now. Just watch the heat in the tranny.
Curly
2019 Chev. Double cab 2500HD, 6.0, 4:10 diffs, six speed auto
2013 Heartland Sundance XLT 265RK

handye9
Explorer II
Explorer II
Forget about towing capacity of 8200 lbs. That was calculated without passengers and cargo. That's not how we go camping. As you load up the tow vehicle, it's "true" towing capacity is going down.

Your Tahoe has multiple (inter-related) ratings that dictate what the vehicle can carry or tow. It has a payload rating (what is can carry) that, if exceeded, it also exceeds GVWR and very likely exceeds GCVWR, even though the loaded weight of your trailer is lower than that mythical "max tow weight rating".

The reason payload is very important in towing a travel trailer is, the tow vehicle is actually carrying (not towing) on average 12 - 13 percent of the trailer's weight. At times it is higher.