Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: wiring a 30 Amp Power Outlet 30A Circuit Breaker {{UPDATE}}
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > wiring a 30 Amp Power Outlet 30A Circuit Breaker {{UPDATE}}

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 7  
Prev
Roger10378

Goodrich, MI.

Senior Member

Joined: 05/29/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/03/22 06:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

joelyn wrote:

joelyn wrote:

OK received the box today and as ya'll said it seems pretty straight forward. Just one question about the ground wire, green... as seen in the attached picture there are 2 place to put the green wire.. not sure if it matters, but do I put the green ground wire into the silver lug attached to the box or do I put it to the screw where the box ground wire is now attached???? black goes to black and white to white as i have outlined in the picture...... just asking about where to attach the ground. thanks to all again for the help

[image]
[image]Click For Full-Size Image.



installing this box this weekend for my TT and a quick question. as far as the ground goes, does it hurt to pig tail my ground green wire and screw it to the lug on the box and also to the screw where the existing ground wire is now in the box.. does it matter if its grounded twice in the same box?????? thanks


There is something missing in the picture. You can see that the green is of 2 different gauges. How and where are they connected? I am guessing that they should both go to one side of the ground lug and then the incoming ground to the other side.


2005 Cardinal 30TS
2007 Chevy 2500HD D/A

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/03/22 06:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Roger10378 wrote:



There is something missing in the picture. You can see that the green is of 2 different gauges. How and where are they connected? I am guessing that they should both go to one side of the ground lug and then the incoming ground to the other side.


You're replying to a two year old thread, but the apparent size difference in the wires is due to the camera angle and distance. Note that the black and white wires are also distorted.


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


dodge guy

Bartlett IL

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/03/22 06:38am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

joelyn wrote:

OK received the box today and as ya'll said it seems pretty straight forward. Just one question about the ground wire, green... as seen in the attached picture there are 2 place to put the green wire.. not sure if it matters, but do I put the green ground wire into the silver lug attached to the box or do I put it to the screw where the box ground wire is now attached???? black goes to black and white to white as i have outlined in the picture...... just asking about where to attach the ground. thanks to all again for the help

[image]
[image]Click For Full-Size Image.


I know this an olde thread but I would ditch the crimp connector at the outlet. No need for them. And not recommended for this kind of application. Why have 2 connection points at the same spot. Remove the connectors and connect the wire directly to the outlet!


Wife Kim
Son Brandon 17yrs
Daughter Marissa 16yrs
Dog Bailey

12 Forest River Georgetown 350TS Hellwig sway bars, BlueOx TrueCenter stabilizer

13 Ford Explorer Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP Tow>
A bad day camping is
better than a good day at work!


Bobbo

Wherever I park

Senior Member

Joined: 09/16/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/03/22 07:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Your best move is to just put the GROUND wire from the house into the two screw block and call it a day. There is no benefit to pigtailling it to the screw in the photo. However, there is also no downside to pigtailling it either.


Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 05/03/22 02:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dodge guy wrote:

joelyn wrote:

OK received the box today and as ya'll said it seems pretty straight forward. Just one question about the ground wire, green... as seen in the attached picture there are 2 place to put the green wire.. not sure if it matters, but do I put the green ground wire into the silver lug attached to the box or do I put it to the screw where the box ground wire is now attached???? black goes to black and white to white as i have outlined in the picture...... just asking about where to attach the ground. thanks to all again for the help

[image]
[image]Click For Full-Size Image.


I know this an olde thread but I would ditch the crimp connector at the outlet. No need for them. And not recommended for this kind of application. Why have 2 connection points at the same spot. Remove the connectors and connect the wire directly to the outlet!


I see what you are saying, but, the wiring from the house is most likely Romex and will be stiffer than the stranded wire that the manufacturer used for all three jumpers going to the socket when they made the shore power box.

That shore power box was designed and prewired so all one has to do is wire the Romex to the terminals provided.

It was built to code, passes code and therefore no reason to modify it from the way it was originally designed and wired.

If one was making a box like this from scratch one could just use all solid wire and be done with all of the stranded pig tails if one wished to make it that way.. The downside of all solid wire is wrestling the socket into place, stranded wire twists and turns much easier..

No downside to the way it was made..

wa8yxm

Davison Michigan (East of Flint)

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/03/22 03:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

midnightsadie wrote:

if your not 100% sure of what your doing???? get done by somebody that does, its not hard,just has to be right. even a buddy with some electric skills.


SEDCOND and warning: I have read bad advice in this thread.
this is best advice.. I will add to it.

After the pro puts in the new box.. Measure the voltage EASIEST way to do this is is a 15-30 Puck adapter (no need for a dog bone) and a plug in volt meter from your RV store. You can also use a multi-meter (many are cheaper) but not all have probes long enough to reach the contacts in the outlets. Proper is 115-120


Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 7  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > wiring a 30 Amp Power Outlet 30A Circuit Breaker {{UPDATE}}
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.