cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Stabilizer Jacks

Spade_Cooley
Explorer
Explorer
I just sold my old travel trailer and am in the process of trying to buy a Rockwood 2608 BS. One of the options is electric stabilizer jacks. I have no experience with them. I'm 78 and still find the standard crank up jacks on the four corners easy to operate but would like to hear from someone who has this option. Are they easy to use and worth the extra money?
13 REPLIES 13

Spade_Cooley
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for all the help. I've decided to go with the standard jacks just to keep things simple and save a buck. Right now I'm negotiating on the trailer purchase. I used the portable drill on my last trailer until it quit and then resorted to the crank method. Even the crank method isn't that bad.

pbeverly
Explorer III
Explorer III
I have the 2608BSD. The jacks are great and easy to use. Just remember that they are for stabilization, not leveling. If you force them to try to level they will break and give you a new set of problems to deal with.

Very good point. First time out I tried to level a little with stabilizers and couldn't open/close bathroom door. Lesson learned. Stabilize, not level.
Ridgeway, SC
2019 26DBH Grey Wolf

beemerphile1
Explorer
Explorer
I bought a trailer with auto level but when shopping a dealer recommended the manual jacks. He said using a cordless drill is faster and easier. I've noticed some manufacturers put the switch in an awkward position.
Build a life you don't need a vacation from.

2016 Silverado 3500HD DRW D/A 4x4
2018 Keystone Cougar 26RBS
2006 Weekend Warrior FK1900

Lwiddis
Explorer
Explorer
I donโ€™t use stabilizers. TT does not rock enough to bother me and removing them added a bunch of ground clearance.