Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Generac GP3300 modifications
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Generac GP3300 modifications

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Mojogosrving

Washougal, WA

New Member

Joined: 02/23/2020

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/23/20 01:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello all,
I am really disappointed with my generator. did not know the watts were spit and it wont even run my microwave in my rv. my microwave wattage is 990w. should of been plenty if it were 3300 watts. but instead, it is 1600. my gen surges when micro is on, then eventually the breaker trips.
Is there any way to bypass the split so that the gen will run on the full 3300 watts?
Thanks for any advice!!

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 02/23/20 02:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sometimes
The output wiring from the generator head connections
Can be changed from (center tapped series 230v Split load )
To (parallel 115v only full power)
You are still limited to circuit breaker limit going to that duplex outlet

Need to see the wiring diagram and a picture of the wiring from head to terminal block to outlets

It has been done before, depends on the generator

It's strange that 1600 Watts won't power your MW
Did you check the fridge is on propane
And that the converter is off and not charging the batteries, also some water heaters have an electric option
Everything that can use propane instead of electric
Should be set to propane, Not electric or automatic

* This post was edited 02/23/20 02:24pm by MrWizard *


Radiate The Happy
....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


ScottG

Bothell Wa.

Senior Member

Joined: 02/25/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/23/20 02:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Is the cooking power of your micro rated at 990W? If so then the power used could easily be 1500~1600 watts overall.


Scott, Grace and Wesly
2003 Dodge 3500 4x4, 6 speed Cummins.
2018 Silver Fox 32A.
H0NDA eu2000i

theoldwizard1

SE MI

Senior Member

Joined: 09/07/2010

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/24/20 09:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

From one Wiz to another ...

MrWizard wrote:

Sometimes ...

Not likely. The stator on alternating current generators is wound with one continuous wire that is center taped. This is a single phase that is "split", hence the term split phase.

I don't know enough about "electric power generation" (not covered in any of my EE courses) to know if you can simply "fold" the second half of the wire back on to the first half.

I guess you could test this if you had a good meter (oscilloscope would be better) by ...

• Start the generator, turn the fuel off and run the carburetor bowl dry
• Connect L1 to L2 on the 240V outlet
• Remove the spark plug (zero compression)
• Pull the cord as hard as possible
• If you are reading close 120V then you should be good.

If there is any type of electronic voltage regulation it could be a problem !

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 02/25/20 08:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Old wizard its very common construction

All 4 leads of the two windings, are brought out of the head ,
L1 is one hot leg L4 is the other opposite hot leg
L2 & L3 are tied together as the neutral
Even Onan does this

L1 to L4 is 230v

Connect L1 & L3. Together
Connect L2 & L4. Together
The windings are now parallel

115v full ouput

L1/3 is used as the hot

L2/4 is used as the neutral

Will have to move a circuit breaker wire from L4 to L3 to parallel the breakers or one breaker will be in the neutral side of output
Can also replace the two separate breakers with one larger one
Depends on what breakers and sockets/outlets are mounted in the generator face plate

* This post was edited 02/25/20 09:07pm by MrWizard *

KMLsquared

Cotati CA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/27/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/25/20 11:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My generac has separate windings that can be wired 110 or 220.

* This post was edited 02/26/20 08:28am by an administrator/moderator *


2002 HO 6spd LB QC 4x4. Edge Juice w/Att 4" str8 pipe AFE int Skyjacker D25 springs w/10" Fox Shox 2.0 Thuren track bar PSC Steering box w/DSS. Fox Steering Damper w/custom mount.

2003 Rampage 33TB
2002 Banshee
1969 Baja


Rvpapa

Alberta , Can.

Senior Member

Joined: 08/07/2002

View Profile



Posted: 03/03/20 03:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it is surging now, putting windings in series for full output as 120VAC is not going to change anything. Get engine running and governed smoothly and your microwave will probably be happy.
Art.

Rvpapa

Alberta , Can.

Senior Member

Joined: 08/07/2002

View Profile



Posted: 03/04/20 11:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Edit above reply to correct for a senior moment. change SERIES to PARALLEL [emoticon]
Art

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Generac GP3300 modifications
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.