cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie here with a towing question

fightingchef
Explorer
Explorer
Please be patient with me as I'm certain these questions has been asked before.

My wife and I are looking to purchase a Prowler 240rb this summer. The listed weight is just under 5000 lbs. Our truck, 2019 Nissan Frontier, has a towing capacity of 6600 lbs. Considering about 500 lbs for cargo in the trailer, are we good with this set up?

Does the weight in the truck itself (passengers and cargo) add to the towing weight? I haven't gotten a clear answer online.

Thanks in advance, and thanks for having me.

FC
26 REPLIES 26

OleManOleCan
Explorer
Explorer
handye9 wrote:
When manufacturers calculate "max towing capacity", they do it without aftermarket accessories, passengers, or cargo. They also advertised that max tow weight with two key words, often missed by consumers. Those words are "UP TO".

RV manufacturers are also guilty of advertising misleading information. They advertise trailers with their unloaded (dry) weights, along with some low hitch / tongue weights. Some of those hitch / tongue weights don't include a battery or propane, both of which add weight directly onto the tongue. They also don't tell you, tongue weight is not a constant number. It goes up and down during every trip.

Your estimate of 500 lbs for stuff loaded in the trailer, could be a bit on the low side. Just filling a 30 gallon fresh water tank, adds 240 lbs. If you got in a situation where you had to tow with full black / grey tanks, you would have 500+ lbs right there. The average load (dishes, flatware, pots and pans, bedding, camp chairs, BBQ equipment, flashlights, batteries, groceries, water, etc) is about 1000 lbs. Average tongue weight runs 12 -13 percent of loaded trailer weight. Some trailers, based on their floor plan, or how you load it, can be a little higher.