Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Tie downs
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Tie downs

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
epcolumbus

Northbrige, MA United States

View Profile

Posted: 03/04/20 05:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am new to truck campers. Looking at used ones. Can I safely mount a 1000 lb camper on my Ram 1500 short bed using heavy duty ratchet straps and the factory tie downs in the bed. Looking for opinions.

ppine

Northern Nevada

View Profile

Posted: 03/04/20 05:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Use the tie downs that bolt to the frame. buy them once.
Use turnbuckles or their equivalent.
Forget about straps.

* This post was edited 03/05/20 08:40am by ppine *

Grit dog

Black Diamond, WA

View Profile

Posted: 03/04/20 05:19pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it works dimensionally, IE, the camper tie downs are inside the bed rails of the truck, then I'd do it. Still gotta make sure the tie downs are angled properly fore and aft to keep the camper pulled slightly forward.

1000lbs is not much of a camper, are you certain on the weight? Even most of the pop ups loaded with gear are close to or twice that weight.

"Yes Sir, Oct 10 1888, Those poor school children froze to death in their tracks. They did not even find them until Spring. Especially hard hit were the ones who had to trek uphill to school both ways, with no shoes." -Bert A.

Camper8251

Big Sky Country

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/04/20 06:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Seriously? Spend the money and do the right thing.........