Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Tie downs
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Tie downs

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
sonuvabug

Mid-West Ontario, Canada

View Profile

Posted: 03/05/20 12:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

epcolumbus wrote:

I am new to truck campers. Looking at used ones. Can I safely mount a 1000 lb camper on my Ram 1500 short bed using heavy duty ratchet straps and the factory tie downs in the bed. Looking for opinions.

First, welcome aboard epcolumbus. For the record, you DID NOT do or say anything wrong. Some people just jump to conclusions but you positioned your experience, your situation and your question appropriately. At least some of us got it ... you don't know what the right thing to do is and were just asking. I can assure you the ones that jumped on you are not representative of the majority in this TC (truck camper) forum or RV'ers as a usually friendly and helpful community.

Generally, ratchet straps ARE NOT recommended for regular use with TC's. Perhaps in a very rare pinch but nowadays, TC's are big and heavy and need to be well secured. As JaycoCreek said, there are straps that are very, very strong but I believe he is right in that no one has come out with one that is specifically geared and approved for TC tie down use.

Personally, I use TorkLift Fast Guns ... one of the most effective, simplest and expensive systems out there. They would likely be overkill for your needs ... especially since you're just starting out.

Torklift FastGuns