Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Tow Vehicles: TPMS Battery
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

 > TPMS Battery

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
cliffy49

Blue Grass

Full Member

Joined: 01/27/2017

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/20 07:17am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For those of you that have changed the batteries in your TPMS, have you found that the unit holds a residual memory or do you have to completely have to re-program the units?

Getting ready to change out the batteries and would like to know what to expect.

Thanks in advance for all your help.


cliffy49
2016 F150 Ecoboost & max tow
2018 Catalina TH26 Toy hauler


stallsmi

Northern Alabama

Full Member

Joined: 08/30/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/20 07:19am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mine have held their programming when I changed batteries.

12th Man Fan

Flower Mound , Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 03/05/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/20 07:43am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think the programming is in the monitor. All the sensor does is to sent temp and pressure readings.

All you have to do is change the battery.Programming will be fine.


2014 GMC Duramax 4X4 DRW Crew

2015 DRV Tradition

BB_TX

McKinney, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 04/04/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/20 08:25am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Since we do not use ours from about Nov to April, I remove the sensor batteries in the fall. And the monitor is unplugged, although it may retain some battery power. Put the batteries back in in the spring and it is still the same as when I removed them.

Learjet

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 02/21/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/07/20 08:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

12th Man Fan wrote:

I think the programming is in the monitor. All the sensor does is to sent temp and pressure readings.

All you have to do is change the battery.Programming will be fine.


^^^ correct


2017 Ram Big Horn, DRW Long Box, 4x4, Cummins, Aisin, 3.73
2015 Wildcat 317RL, MoRryde rubber pin box, Titan Disc Brakes, Trojan T105
B&W Ram Companion

Yamaha EF2600c tri-fuel generator
Champion Model 46595- 3000/3500w


2oldman

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/07/20 09:27am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, programming is in the monitor.

fj12ryder

Platte City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 08/19/2003

View Profile



Posted: 03/07/20 09:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

12th Man Fan wrote:

I think the programming is in the monitor. All the sensor does is to sent temp and pressure readings.

All you have to do is change the battery.Programming will be fine.
This true to a certain extent, but the sensors have an identifying ID that tells the monitor where it is. If it didn't have an ID the monitor would have no idea where a particular sensor was located. But since the OP didn't specify what system he is referring to, it's hard to be exact. I have the TST system and the sensor batteries can be changed without the monitor losing its location.


Howard and Peggy

"Don't Panic"

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tow Vehicles

 > TPMS Battery
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tow Vehicles


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.