cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where's the bypass for the water heater?

atexintx
Explorer
Explorer
I've got a 2010 Heartland Edge, 19' and want to sanitize my fresh water tank. I'm new to all this but I think I can do it myself if I know how to turn ON the bypass. The official manual does not have good pics.

Also, how do I drain the fresh water tank? (Keep it simple and pretend I'm in the 4th grade). I'm having trouble on these tanks. I know how to empty the grey and black tank, but in simple terms, how do I drain the FWT?

Thank you.
16 REPLIES 16

jdc1
Explorer II
Explorer II
GrandpaKip wrote:
If you are just sanitizing the FWT, no need to bypass anything. 1/4 cup bleach per 15 gallons added through the tank fill, run water pump through each faucet til you can smell chlorine. Let sit for a couple hours, then drain and rinse til smell is gone.

Adding vinegar after draining the bleached water will help with the bleach smell.
But yea.....clean the fresh tank like grandpa says.

CavemanCharlie
Explorer II
Explorer II
kellem wrote:
CavemanCharlie wrote:
Dick_B wrote:
Does every water heater have a bypass? Seems like an easy way to save manufacturing cost by not supplying one?

My water heater does not have a bypass. I think that because it is mounted under the bed where it is difficult to access they thought it was not needed.

I wish it did have one it sure would make life easier. I could add one but, I'm afraid to mess with the plumbing on my 27 year old TT. It still has the original water heater. Which still has, what looks like, the original anode rod screwed into the back of it. I'm afraid to try and screw it out.

I must ask,
How are you draining the WH without ever removing the anode rod ?
It's 27 yrs old so something is working. Lol

The anode rod on this water heater is on the back of it and not even on the bottom !! It's screwed in about half way up.