Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Where's the bypass for the water heater?
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> Where's the bypass for the water heater?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
atexintx

El Paso Texas

View Profile

Posted: 03/09/20 07:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've got a 2010 Heartland Edge, 19' and want to sanitize my fresh water tank. I'm new to all this but I think I can do it myself if I know how to turn ON the bypass. The official manual does not have good pics.

Also, how do I drain the fresh water tank? (Keep it simple and pretend I'm in the 4th grade). I'm having trouble on these tanks. I know how to empty the grey and black tank, but in simple terms, how do I drain the FWT?

Thank you.

Lwiddis

Owens River Road, California

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/09/20 07:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A complete search of the underbelly of your trailer didn’t locate the fresh water drain value? (On your back with eye protection)

Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2020 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - (MOS 1542 & 1560)

Yosemite Sam1

Under the pines.

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/09/20 09:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

1. The water heater by-pass is usually near the water heater tank. It's the red thingy lever. So, as I tell my 4th grader, if it is usually on, so turning it the other way will shut if off, lol.