cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Towing 4.6k w/ Nissan Titan vs Dodge Durango

redex113
Explorer
Explorer
Hi RV.NET Forumers! Just joined the forumns to read and learn. I have the following question.

I live in Portland and plan on renting a TT (4.6k Dry 2018 starcraft avalon, 530 TW). My question is between a 18 Nissan Titan (SL 4x4, 9,200TC) or a 18 Dodge Durango (RT AWD, 7,200) what would be the better choice? I would like to tow it w/ the Durango but how much difference will the Titan make?

The trip is planning on going to south oregon, medford area!

Some factors to consider is
- I am new to towing a camper, but have towed before. (Flat Trailers/Uhauls/etc)
- I would like to take 6 people (700lbs), but the titan only fits 5. Would have to bring a second car or 1 person sit in the trailer.
- I calculate my Cargo+People+TW(dry)+misc @ about 1,400LBs.
- trip is about 300-350 miles each way.

Thanks for your advice and please don't hesitate to school me!!
20 REPLIES 20

bikendan
Explorer
Explorer
redex113 wrote:
bikendan wrote:
Bionic Man wrote:
If you are a "by the numbers" guy, you will need to look at the payload capacity of both vehicles.

Personally, I would use the Durango (are RTs still Hemi?). First hand experience, they make a good tow vehicle for the weight class you are discussing.

5 or 6 people in the vehicle, will eat up a lot of the vehicle's payload capacity, leaving very little for the WDH weight and loaded tongue weight.
I would expect the Titan to have a higher payload capacity.
OP, you are making a common newbie mistake by focusing on the towing capacity number, instead of the Payload Capacity number. That's the more important number to work with. You'll find the Payload Capacity number on a driver's door yellow sticker. It'll say something like "Occupants and cargo should not exceed xxxxlbs".