Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Brand New Vizio 40 inch TV problem, HELP
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Brand New Vizio 40 inch TV problem, HELP

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next
Cloud Dancer

San Antonio and Livingston TX USA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/08/2001

View Profile



Posted: 03/19/20 08:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Bill.Satellite wrote:

Unfortunately, even if you get an HD receiver which is capable of High Def, if you are using a dome, the dome can only receive SD programming and the picture will be small and it will be [email protected] However, it will be a more simple setup as you just select the appropriate HDMI input. That will also allow you to connect your existing OTA TV antenna to that one coax connection, do a new channel scan and you will be able to watch all of your favorite local TV channels in FULL HD! The OTA TV is the VERY BEST TV viewing available as it is not compressed like the other options. Want to watch the Super Bowl and you have Cable or DTV or DISH? Switch to the OTA antenna for a substantially better picture!
If I read you last post correctly there appeared to be a complement in there. If so, many thanks!

*
Compliment,...yes. I just didn't want to get too mushy. [emoticon]
*
All of this has been in a brick house. The only exterior antenna is the Direct TV unit on the roof which has double LNB and azimuth, elevation, skew adjustments.
The large TV room is where the 46" Sony TV lives, with large Spectrum HD receiver (HDMI connections) AND with large Direct TV HD receiver (HDMI connections). Both feeds deliver excellent picture quality. What I should've said in my long post is simply that I might spend the money to duplicate this arrangement for the new Viscio in the master bedroom. Obviously, I'm not a TV guy.
*
The 2003 40 ft Dutch Star(special-ordered, picked it up at the factory), parked in the backyard, is the one with the Trac-Star dome (nothing like in-motion feature). Except that it got hurt by large hail about 5 years ago, and the parts for the Trac-Star were no longer available. I've been using a small portable dish that I set up on the ground.
Gotta go get some shut-eye. Thanks again


Willie & Betty Sue
Miko & Sparky
2003 41 ft Dutch Star Diesel Pusher/Spartan
Floorplan 4010
Blazer toad & Ranger bassboat

George441

Mobile, US

New Member

Joined: 08/22/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/18/20 07:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Cloud Dancer wrote:

I have Direct TV satellite and Spectrum ground cable. I replaced the bedroom 32 inch Samsung with a 40 inch Vizio, from Best Buy. It has 4 HDMI ports and ONE port for regular co-ax cable connector. I connect Spectrum using HDMI port and Direct using co-ax cable.
I could not make this new TV show anything on Direct TV, except NO SIGNAL. I went back and explained the problem to Best Buy. They said it would cost me $100 if they sent out a Geek techie,...OR I could have another 40 inch Vizio, in the new sealed box.
I connected the new one, with same results! I tried it with my two other Direct TV receivers, with same results. I replaced the co-ax cables, with same results,...NO SIGNAL. I connected, one by one, ALL my other TVs, total of five. They all receive Direct TV just fine.
Is this model Vizio simply not compatible with Direct TV signal?

I am getting confused, why you use co-ax cable connector.
Anyway, I searched online and found this.

Press the input button, keep on holding and then select tv or DTV input.
Reset the tv to factory settings. For that, do System > Reset & Admin > Reset to Factory Settings. If needed, go to “help” options to fix any further issues.
Hope this might help you.


* This post was edited 12/28/20 10:32am by an administrator/moderator *

Retired JSO

North Georgia Mountains

Senior Member

Joined: 01/28/2009

View Profile



Posted: 12/18/20 06:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I’ve done this a thousand times. D10-12 receiver has coax output. Turn receiver on then go to TV antenna channels and scan. Should pick up channel 3or 4. Direct tv screen should then be visible.





Tom_M

New Hope, MN

Senior Member

Joined: 04/24/2011

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/19/20 04:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The OP has already figured out the channel scan.


Tom
2005 Born Free 24RB
Towing 1978 VW Bug convertible
Minneapolis, MN


1492

Arlington, VA

Moderator

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 12/19/20 12:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not a fan of VIZIO smart TV. Mine came with one dead HDMI input. Wasn't worth taking it back as I use an HDMI switcher anyway. Also, the included remote seems quite flimsy, the full length battery cover won't stay closed without tape. Not to mention, the buttons don't align properly. Trying to power off will often bring up Amazon Prime Video, the button directly below. Luckily, I have Logitech programmable remote. It's also the only TV I have that occasionally loses sound or other channel select issues, requiring the built-in OS hard power reboot. Just too many QC issues for me. Went with TCL instead.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 12/19/20 04:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That's interesting. Maybe you got a TV built on a Friday! I have had excellent success with the many Visio TV's I have owned over the years. Nothing ever like the problems you describe. Our new coach came with Samsung TV's and they are fine but lacking in some of the functions the Visio had.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 12/19/20 04:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If using COAX input try both channel 3 and 4 both Cable and Antenna settings.

Contact Direct: your receiver may not output RF or may not be configured to output RF.. You said you have 4 HDMI Ports. Try one of them with the Direct box.


Home is where I park it.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times


MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 12/19/20 07:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

32" Visio TV here, no problems with OTA TV
No problems with the remote
1080p excellent picture, it is Not A smart TV with internet and wifi
3 HDMI input ports, 1 near useless usb port
Near useless because it is only good for still image photos, won't play video files, I use other hardware to send video to HDMI input


Radiate The Happy
....

Connected using Verizon and AT&T
1997 F53 Bounder 36s


1492

Arlington, VA

Moderator

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 12/19/20 08:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, at least you got 3-HDMI inputs. My Vizio smart TV only came with 2. [emoticon]

The color reproduction is the best part of it. I did manually adjust it though.

JimR 1

Custer South Dakota

Senior Member

Joined: 08/29/2003

View Profile






Posted: 12/19/20 10:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have an old DTV Receiver like Cloud Dancer and I am running a 32 inch Visio TV and I am using component cable to run it seems to work good but OTA is the best.

Just my 2¢

JimR

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Brand New Vizio 40 inch TV problem, HELP
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2021 CWI, Inc. © 2021 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.