cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help choosing something like Cougar

mtbfamily
Explorer
Explorer
Hi everyone. Newbie here, hoping you can point me to a few of the better travel trailers that meet our needs and wants. We just borrowed a friend's 2018 Cougar 29BHSWE and liked it. Only thing we didn't love is that the double bunks seemed like a waste of space for 2 kids (ours are just 3 and 12). We are new to travel trailers, so we don't know which brands are high quality. We're open to buying new or used, and max tow capacity is 8500lb with my vehicle. Here's what we have so far for needs and wants:

Needs:
Private bedroom w/door(s)
Auto-leveling jacks
Bunks (ideally singles not doubles for space saving / storage reasons)

Wants:
TV in front of couch (not at an angle)

It seems the Cougar 31BHKWE might fit the bill...but I'd love to know what other models you would recommend. Thanks in advance!
17 REPLIES 17

GrandpaKip
Explorer
Explorer
Grit dog wrote:
mtbfamily wrote:
Thanks so much everyone for your detailed and clear explanation. I can't believe the RV dealers we went to didn't provide the same. You are right that the towing capacity is calculated based on just one 150lb person driving. After I did the math you provided, I ended up with just a 5100 lb towing capacity. We just towed a trailer 3 hrs each way that's 6875 lb dry (not counting the weight distribution / sway hitch).

So, let's ignore the towing capacity for now and just focus on figuring out which TTs we should be looking at. Can folks help me with that please?

A. Not a surprise. Why would you trust a RV salesman any more than any other commission based salesman?
B. You just did the weight cop calcs and found out that your nice 1/2 ton "can't" pull squat if you believe that.
C. You just towed a 8000lb trailer 6 hours (6875lbs dry + + + + = 8klbs ish). How did it feel? Were you comfortable doing it? Did the combo handle appropriately? Refer back to B. above.