cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

jacks up or down

ggrotz
Explorer
Explorer
I have a 2005 samba class a.When I put it into storage is it better to put the jacks uo or down thank you.
16 REPLIES 16

fpresto
Explorer
Explorer
I suppose it depends on the manufacturer but HWH says, on their web page FAQs, that there is no reason to retract their jacks for storage.
USN Retired
2016 Tiffin Allegro 32 SA

egh33
Explorer
Explorer
SAR Tracker wrote:
If they are hydraulic cylinders (can you see a shiny shaft extended when they are lowered?) then they should be stored in the closed/retracted position. Otherwise, rust will form on the shaft, and when retracted after storage, will damage the hydraulic seals.

I second that from experience.

thead
Explorer
Explorer
Jacks down, Hydraulic fluid doesn't deteriorate an the jack shafts won't rust, check an old pc of abandoned construction equip thjat has set in the elements for years, most cylinder shafts look like new! Take as much of the coaches weight off of the tires & suspension as possible. 4 hydraulic legs don't care, careful U block the drive wheels so it doesn't roll, 6 tires sitting can develop flat spots over time, zero weight on em, zero problems other than sun exposure, If that doesn't make sense to U, nothing will.

crawford
Explorer
Explorer
rgatijnet1 I think you will win that bet LOL
Change from a c class to a A class Georgetown 07 triple slide

rgatijnet1
Explorer III
Explorer III
I'm guessing that people that full time have their jacks extended about 365 days a year.

ernie1
Explorer
Explorer
Bigfooot leveler manufacturer says no problem with having their jacks stored down or up for long periods of time. If it ever occurs that the jack is stuck in the down position I can relieve the pressure on the jack and run it back up.

Horsedoc
Explorer II
Explorer II