cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charge Controller/Converter issue?

calveryc
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new here, thanks for having me. I'm also new to RV'ing and have run into a confusing issue with a new to me RV I bought a few months ago. While hooked to a generator I noticed my box fan seemed to be running at half speed. I checked my generator and it's putting out 120v but when I checked my 110v plugs in the RV I found something odd, when I went from ground to hot I got 65V, when I go from ground to neutral I got 65V, when I go neutral to hot I get 120V. Is this typical of RVs? In a home your neutral to ground should be 0, ground to hot should be 120V. If this isn't typical is this a symptom of a bad charger controller? Anyway thanks for the help.
19 REPLIES 19

3_tons
Explorer
Explorer
Wa8xym, That is a mighty fine explanation Sir, thanks for washing my windows 🙂 !!

3 tons

Fisherman
Explorer
Explorer
Bond the Generator outlet if it allows or make a special generator adapter with neutral and ground bonded.. IF YOU DO NOT KNOW HOW. Get help from someone who does.

Take a common 120 volt AC plug, open it up and put a 14 ga jumper wire between the green ground screw and the silver screw where the white or neutral wire goes. Close the plug and insert it into one of the 120 volt receptacles. Now it's bonded. It was mentioned here before with a couple of pictures but I can't find it.

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
calveryc wrote:
I checked my 110v plugs in the RV I found something odd, when I went from ground to hot I got 65V, when I go from ground to neutral I got 65V, when I go neutral to hot I get 120V.

100% normal when using a portable generator.. WHY you ask?

In electronics there is a device called a capacitor. and another device consisting of two capacitors called a "Capacities voltage divider" This is like a resistive divider in a DC circuit.

Now imagine the following DC hook iup