cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Rebuilding my eu2000i... (never did this before)

groundhogy
Explorer
Explorer
My generator stopped working and I had it to three shops. One got it working and after ten hours, it died (he said he decarbonized). The second two guys couldn't get it running. So I thought it must be something deep inside wrong.

So I pulled the whole thing apart. Labeled things and put them in baggies. Took pics as I disassembled.

I am now examining the parts. I found an old GX-100 shop manual online. This has the specs on things like valves, piston wear dimensions, etc.

I have zero experience, but, having said that, it doesn't look to bad inside. Like I can still see the machining lines on the piston. You know where the cutter went over it?

The valves look somewhat suspect. I did wiggle the valves in the guides and the Intake is tight. The exhaust wiggles a bit more. There is some carbon around the edges of the valve seats. The valve doesn't look like a nice 45 degree flat either. It's kind of cupped where it touches the seat. But I have not cleaned the valves yet, so that might be an illusion with the crud.

I am trying to find this big defect that prevented the motor from running, but it is not sticking out at me.

Could the valve carbon have caused decompression?

I do remember at the end, when it did run, it had lost power.

Any comments or big belly laughs weclome. lol.
23 REPLIES 23

mich800 wrote:

Could be something as simple as a faulty low oil sensor or stuck gas cap vent. Options now seem to be complete rebuild or reassemble and start the troubleshoot process over.

"I do remember at the end, when it did run, it had lost power."

what does this mean other than running poorly.

Your comment about the gas cap vent struck my memory banks...