Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Coleman Airxcel thermostat and controller box installation
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Coleman Airxcel thermostat and controller box installation

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
tuseggrolls

33470

New Member

Joined: 04/12/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 08:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I did search, but I still need help to figure out what I did wrong, or probably, I didn't know enough. It has been a week of trying.

I want to replace the mechanical manual control knobs of the Coleman Airxcel Mach 3 Plus to a Coleman Airxcel 8330-3862 T-Stat Wall Digital Heat/Cool, and also replace the control box with the Coleman 9330C755 Control Box.

My problem: I could not find how to power the thermostat, as there is no +_12VDC in the current set up, only a -12vdc.

Any information of how to do the wiring would be appreciated.
Please help
Nick

[image]

[image]

[image]

[image]

* This post was last edited 04/13/20 09:42am by an administrator/moderator *   View edit history

StirCrazy

Kamloops, BC, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2003

View Profile



Posted: 04/12/20 09:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

can you find instalation manuals for both units? maybe if you can you can compare the wiring and see if you can find the common ones.

Steve


2014 F350 6.7 Platinum
2016 Cougar 330RBK

tuseggrolls

33470

New Member

Joined: 04/12/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 10:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

StirCrazy wrote:

can you find instalation manuals for both units? maybe if you can you can compare the wiring and see if you can find the common ones.

Steve


I do have the manuals of both units, but no mention of how to wire the red cable (+12vdc) to power the thermostat.

* This post was edited 04/12/20 12:34pm by tuseggrolls *

A1RVTraveler

North Carolina

Full Member

Joined: 12/24/2017

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 03:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As a repairman, I run into this issue every time someone wants to change from ceiling controls to a wall thermostat.

You have to run a 12VDC wire from somewhere.

These options come to mind.

1. Run a 12V wire from a source near the new thermostat location. You might be able to use a light source. Just make sure you use 12V that comes to the light switch, not the 12V leaving the light switch to the light.

2. Run 12V from the furnace to the thermostat. Tap into the red furnace wire.

3. Run a new 12V line from the fuse panel.

4. I have added a 120VAC Duplex box (THINK WALL OUTLET IN HOUSE) in the ceiling assembly area. Use the 120VAC coming to the new Control box. Just splice it in series prior to the control box. You can now buy an 120VAC to 12DC adapter (Radio Shack) Plug the adapter into the Duplex box and then you have a new 12VDC source. Since you have to run a bunch of wires from the Control Box down to the thermostat, you can run one more wire for the 12V to the thermostat.

Hope this helps.

tuseggrolls

33470

New Member

Joined: 04/12/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 03:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A1RVTraveler wrote:

As a repairman, I run into this issue every time someone wants to change from ceiling controls to a wall thermostat.

You have to run a 12VDC wire from somewhere.

These options come to mind.

1. Run a 12V wire from a source near the new thermostat location. You might be able to use a light source. Just make sure you use 12V that comes to the light switch, not the 12V leaving the light switch to the light.

2. Run 12V from the furnace to the thermostat. Tap into the red furnace wire.

3. Run a new 12V line from the fuse panel.

4. I have added a 120VAC Duplex box (THINK WALL OUTLET IN HOUSE) in the ceiling assembly area. Use the 120VAC coming to the new Control box. Just splice it in series prior to the control box. You can now buy an 120VAC to 12DC adapter (Radio Shack) Plug the adapter into the Duplex box and then you have a new 12VDC source. Since you have to run a bunch of wires from the Control Box down to the thermostat, you can run one more wire for the 12V to the thermostat.

Hope this helps.


Thanks a million for the jnfo.

Options

1. I have no idea, as I don't have any 12vdc light in my trailer.
2. I wjll have study on this one.
3. Not an option in my case
4. If i can find a 12vdc source then I can run to the thermostat, but I have only 1 wire (red) left from the thermostat. Do i need a ground wire, too?

Thanks again

A1RVTraveler

North Carolina

Full Member

Joined: 12/24/2017

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 04:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The blue wire from the thermostat goes to ground anywhere on the RV and also must be connected to the (B-) wire on the control box.

tuseggrolls

33470

New Member

Joined: 04/12/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 04:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A1RVTraveler wrote:

The blue wire from the thermostat goes to ground anywhere on the RV and also must be connected to the (B-) wire on the control box.


It appears option 2 is the best in my case, but I am not sure where is the red wire that you've mentioned, except the orange wire...and I am not even sure that I am looking at the right part.
Please see the attached photos.
Thanks much again
Nick
BTW: I measure with a voltmeter, and I can't get a 12vdc anywhere.[emoticon]

[image]

[image]

* This post was edited 04/13/20 09:46am by an administrator/moderator *

A1RVTraveler

North Carolina

Full Member

Joined: 12/24/2017

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 05:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The orange and white wires plug into the control box. This is the 120VAC power that comes from the control box and powers the heat strip (not a furnace) located in the Air-conditioner.

The red wire I refer to is the typical 12V wire at the LP furnace. Coleman thermostats are typically powered from this 12V power source.

You can use any 12V you can find but you have to run it to the thermostat. Coleman thermostats need 12V to the red wire. Then the thermostat sends 12V up the ceiling control box. The ceiling control box then sends 120VAC to the AC compressor, low and high fan and the heat strip depending on your thermostat settings.

Just curious, do you also have an LP (Propane) furnace, If yes, is there another thermostat to control it?

tuseggrolls

33470

New Member

Joined: 04/12/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 05:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

A1RVTraveler wrote:

The orange and white wires plug into the control box. This is the 120VAC power that comes from the control box and powers the heat strip (not a furnace) located in the Air-conditioner.

The red wire I refer to is the typical 12V wire at the LP furnace. Coleman thermostats are typically powered from this 12V power source.

You can use any 12V you can find but you have to run it to the thermostat. Coleman thermostats need 12V to the red wire. Then the thermostat sends 12V up the ceiling control box. The ceiling control box then sends 120VAC to the AC compressor, low and high fan and the heat strip depending on your thermostat settings.

Just curious, do you also have an LP (Propane) furnace, If yes, is there another thermostat to control it?


Aaaah!
No, I don't have a furnace, but can I use a 120vac to 12vdc converter in this case.
If I can, then the 12vdc will connect to the thermostat red wire (12vdc), but where the negative wire should be connected to?
Thanks

tuseggrolls

33470

New Member

Joined: 04/12/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/12/20 06:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Another question, should I be able to use a 12v battery to power the thermostat?
If so, where should I connect the negative lead to?
Thx

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Coleman Airxcel thermostat and controller box installation
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.