Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Onan Microlite 4000 Generator Issue

WingsFan1313
Explorer
Explorer
Good evening, folks!

I will be purchasing my first-ever motor home on Monday; It's a 2002 Fleetwood Tioga with an Onan Microlite 4000 generator. During preliminary discussions with the seller, he indicated an issue with the generator not starting. The price is too good to pass up, even if I need to replace the generator, but I thought this might be a good place to get some advice on whether it can be fixed or if it needs to be replaced. I will try to provide as much information as I can, but I'm completely new to this so please forgive me if it's not enough.

During the walkthrough today, here's what happened:

- The motorhome was connected to his house for power and everything inside was working fine (lights, TVs, etc).

- We attempted to start the generator by flipping the switch to generator power and holding the start switch. There was a clicking noise as if trying to start a car with a dead battery.

- We moved on from the generator and started the engine of the motorhome... and while the engine was running, he attempted to start the generator again. This time, it attempted to start, but would only run for about a second before quitting.

- My friend (who is much better at these things) opened the generator door to look inside and told me that when he touched the carburetor on the generator, he got an electric tingle -- that there was a short to ground.

The seller said that he hasn't run the generator for about 6 months, so I can understand a carburetor issue (gunked up, needs cleaning or replacing), but the electrical issue has got me confused.

I will have the motor home on Monday and can provide more specifics then... I just wonder what the first plan of attack should be.

Thanks in advance. I appreciate any help you can provide.
21 REPLIES 21

Dusty_R
Explorer
Explorer