cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New tow vehicle - Heavy Duty - WDH or not?

crazyro
Explorer
Explorer
Hi folks. After enjoying our Mega Cab for a while, we have upgraded to my dream truck - a RAM 2500 w/ the 6.4 HEMI, crew cab, long bed. I'm new to the "true" 2500 world (our MC was rated as a 1/2 ton though it looked like a 3/4) and am seeing conflicting info - do I need a WDH or not?

Also, help me here. If I do keep my WDH, would a reducer work fine or should I get a 2.5" shank? (new to us truck came with a class V hitch setup) I may end up needing a taller shank as this truck is lifted a little.

Much appreciated.

Here's our Lima:

33 REPLIES 33

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
crazyro wrote:
I am looking at getting this shank which should provide me with the drop I need. (I hope)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GC21JW9/

Our TT weighs only about 5,000 so I don't think the truck will care much.

Double post

cummins2014
Explorer
Explorer
crazyro wrote:
I am looking at getting this shank which should provide me with the drop I need. (I hope)

I have welded up more drop downs like that in my working days then I can count, a chunk of 2*1/2" square bar, and away we would go . Of course back then it was all 2" square bar before the 2*1/2' receivers .

crazyro
Explorer
Explorer

Grit_dog
Nomad III
Nomad III
Cummins12V98 wrote:
FishOnOne wrote:
Cummins12V98 wrote:
FishOnOne wrote:
Congrats on the new truck. For that weight you shouldn't need a WDH.

Common sense answer!

So it was a common sense question?

It was compliment to YOU as your answer was common sense!

Cats n dogs in harmony....Love it!
2016 Ram 2500, MotorOps.ca EFIlive tuned, 5” turbo back, 6" lift on 37s
2017 Heartland Torque T29 - Sold.
Couple of Arctic Fox TCs - Sold

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
What every person should own that tows a trailer! B&W Tow N Stow.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's