Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Support trailer build and story...ideas and the why
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Support trailer build and story...ideas and the why

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev
BurbMan

Islip, Long Island

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 05/11/20 09:48am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Awesome build! I'm new to the TC world after having a TT for 20 years, so I am curious, what makes this a better option than a toy hauler? Most TH's come with 100 gal FW tank, 50 gal fuel tank for the toys, large gen set up etc etc. I guess this gives you the flexibility to leave the extra capacity home and just travel with the TC on shorter trips if you want to?

2015 Ram 3500 SRW 4x4 Laramie Crew Cab Long Box, Cummins diesel
2002 Lance 811 Slide-In Camper
SOLD: 2008 Terry 34' TT
SOLD: 2001 K2500LT 8.1L Suburban

Lance 811 Renovation Story!
Project Complete!
Maiden Voyage!

Bedlam

PNW

View Profile

Posted: 05/11/20 02:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Towing a trailer behind your TC is optional. This weekend, we were away without ours and in couple of weeks we will back to the same area with the trailer for a longer stay. This flexibility in not having to always trailer or deal with a long vehicle is what kept us in truck campers and drove us away from toy haulers. We still miss our 5500w Onan supplied by a 40 gallon tank and 150 gallons of fresh water, but we have adapted to our 65 gallon fresh tank and tote along an addition 84 gallons in the trailer. I did like having 220VAC available to run welders and compressors, but now leave those things home and ride a little more cautiously...