cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do I need sway bar or equalizer?

GravelRider
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to this, and am in the process of buying a 22 ft travel trailer with a dry weight off roughly 3300 lbs. I'm towing it with an F150 with a 9000 lb towing capacity. The dealer is asking if I want a sway bar or an equalizer. If these are needed and make for a vastly better experience, I'll pony up. But I worry they're not needed with this size trailer. What do you guys say?
17 REPLIES 17

TomG2
Explorer
Explorer
There are three things to try when experiencing that wormy squirmy sensation of an overloaded tow vehicle. One can experiment with hitches, tires, and suspension upgrades. They can get a more capable tow vehicle. A lighter trailer will make a big difference. The first experiment may work, the second two will work. Been there many times over the last forty years.

Huntindog
Explorer
Explorer
99.9999% of the time, seat belts are NOT NEEDED either. But that 0.0001% of the time they are, can save your life. They are very easy to use, and because of this are required by law to be used just about everywhere.
Huntindog
100% boondocking
2021 Grand Design Momentum 398M
2 bathrooms, no waiting
104 gal grey, 104 black,158 fresh
FullBodyPaint, 3,8Kaxles, DiscBrakes
17.5LRH commercial tires
1860watts solar,800 AH Battleborn batterys
2020 Silverado HighCountry CC DA 4X4 DRW

CFerguson
Explorer
Explorer
nickthehunter wrote:
If it was me, I would get a weight distribution hitch and a friction sway bar. I've been towing trailers for about 30 years, and every trailer I tow over 2500 - 3000lbs would have one if at all possible.

You can check them out at etrailer.com

^^^Best Answer^^^

I tow a <5k TT with a Tundra rated just under 10k for trailering. I ALWAYS use an Equalizer setup.

jerem0621
Explorer II
Explorer II