cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cody, WY to Yellowstone (East Entrance)

4azn8vs
Explorer
Explorer
We are planning our first majorRV trip for this summer. Due to the closure of the North and Northeast entrances to Yellowstone, we are planning on driving from Cody, WY to Yellowstone via the east entrance. I'm learning it is a mountainous road! My husband is very comfortable and experienced driving large vehicles/RV (we have a 25 foot C Class).

Has anyone driven this stretch before? How treacherous is it?
7 REPLIES 7

ppine
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have been driving it for many decades. I really like the east approach best up the Shoshone River. Keep an eye out for moose. Stop at Wabuska Tipi, Bill Cody's old lodge. Visiting Cody is always fun. Spend some time at the Buffalo Bill Visitor Center to get warmed up for Ystone.

Ivylog
Explorer III
Explorer III
The other entrances should be open fairly soon so doubt you will have to use just the south or East. Non of them are difficult... OK, getting to the NE/Lamar entrance could be fun.
This post is my opinion (free advice). It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.
Sold 04 Dynasty to our son after 14 great years.
Upgraded with a 08 HR Navigator 45’...

Busskipper
Explorer
Explorer
4azn8vs wrote:
We are planning our first majorRV trip for this summer. Due to the closure of the North and Northeast entrances to Yellowstone, we are planning on driving from Cody, WY to Yellowstone via the east entrance. I'm learning it is a mountainous road! My husband is very comfortable and experienced driving large vehicles/RV (we have a 25 foot C Class).

Has anyone driven this stretch before? How treacherous is it?

Even if the north entrance is open when you go to Yellowstone (It should open in June) I'd still favor Cody for a few days before entering YNP.