Good Sam Club Open Roads Forum: Power max converter keeps blowing 30 amp fuses
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Power max converter keeps blowing 30 amp fuses

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev
wolfe10

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/08/20 10:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Two things:

I would move those reset-able breakers out of the battery box (sulfuric acid and hydrogen gas do not play well with electrical components). Actually, I would both move and replace them-- they look like they have already taken a beating.

Reorient your inner battery cabling so that you can access the batteries to check water level.

* This post was edited 06/08/20 11:21am by wolfe10 *


Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38'FDDS
Ex: 1997 Safari 35'
Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240

Diesel RV Club:http://www.dieselrvclub.org/

revcononthehill

Southern Oregon

New Member

Joined: 06/07/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/08/20 10:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes marking the white wire is a great idea and I will do that when I get some red tape. The fuses that kept blowing were two 30amp fuses directing on the converter before I redid the wiring. Before redoing the battery wiring I tried 40amp fuses directly in the converter that I had on hand. That was a big mistake and made a popping noise inside the converter without blowing the fuses. It sounds like I lucked out and didn’t cause major damage to the converter, I hope! Here’s a photo online of the converter and the fuses I am talking about. Maybe it smells because it hasn’t been turned on for a couple years?

[image]

revcononthehill

Southern Oregon

New Member

Joined: 06/07/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/08/20 10:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes marking the white wire is a great idea and I will do that when I get some red tape. The fuses that kept blowing were two 30amp fuses directing on the converter before I redid the wiring. Before redoing the battery wiring I tried 40amp fuses directly in the converter that I had on hand. That was a big mistake and made a popping noise inside the converter without blowing the fuses. It sounds like I lucked out and didn’t cause major damage to the converter, I hope! Here’s a photo online of the converter and the fuses I am talking about. Maybe it smells because it hasn’t been turned on for a couple years?

[image]

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 06/08/20 11:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My PowerMax 55 amper from 2015 has two 40s. Anyway, it is not clear what was blowing your RP fuses. You do need to replace both if just one blows.

Since they are not blowing now, you must have fixed whatever was wrong. No idea what the popping was from but it works now.

If it continues to smell bad after a while instead of the smell going away, I would take the converter out and drill the four corner rivets out that hold the lid on and check under there for what might be covered with black smoke. The lid might have screws instead of rivets depending on when it was made. It will be warm while on and have some normal smell, but the nose knows when the smell is unusual.

You might have lucked out though. [emoticon]


1. 1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
See Profile for House electronics set-up.
2. 1991 Bighorn 9.5ft Truck Camper on 2003 Chev 2500HD 6.0 Gas

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/08/20 03:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

OK so unplug and disconnect the 12v side of the converter. Check voltage and polarity of the 12v wires that connect to the converter. Post the results.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

revcononthehill

Southern Oregon

New Member

Joined: 06/07/2020

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/08/20 11:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll, It was putting out 12.3 so I think all is normal.

Thank you to everyone in this forum. What a huge help you all were! Problem solved swiftly and now my batteries are being charged. So far so good and now off to fix my toilet which was just gushing water from the seams!!! Here is some plumbing I had to redo today. What a nightmare, but its all working great.

http://u.cubeupload.com/polskye/6894DC5051D140788DFC.jpeg
http://u.cubeupload.com/polskye/8EF56605E4B94CE8B67C.jpeg

Thank you all again.

wolfe10

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/09/20 06:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

12.3 is basically a 50% discharged battery.

Check it again after the converter has been running for several hours.

Readings with converter on should be in the 132.- 13.5 VDC range.

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 06/09/20 07:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, if your converter has 120v input and you see 12.3v at the output, that is battery voltage and the converter is not working.

Those have come down in price in the last few years, so it is not so much of a disaster as it used to be.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/09/20 04:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The Photos you posted were plumbing

Just what was the problem?????


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


shastagary

minnesota

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/09/20 06:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

the popping noise from the converter when trying the 40 amp fuse may have been a capacitor exploding inside of the converter it may continue to work but the output voltage may not be as clean as it should be.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Power max converter keeps blowing 30 amp fuses
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.