cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opinion: 1991 Fleetwood Southwind 30'

rhudson1111
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone! I'm new to motorhomes and considering a 1991 Fleetwood Southwind 30'. Bigger than I wanted and I still have to travel 80 miles for this. But it has 350watt solar already installed (which I was going to install myself). Says, new stereo, 2 flat screen tvs, new toilet, new fridge, new water pump. Regularly maintained. Rebuilt engine with 38k mileage, refurbished generator, 15k in upgrades, awning works great, self-leveling jacks (no idea about that), new batteries, always pass smog, everything works. Asking $8500. Clear title in hand. I was sold on the solar alone, but no help if the Fleetwood no good. Sounds like a good one, but I'm not experienced. Anyone know about these Fleetwoods? Does this all sound like good stuff?

My other question is since it has an onboard generator & solar, is there still a need to buy a gas generator immediately? I'd love to take that cost off my immediate budget if possible. Thanks in advance for your help! Robin
14 REPLIES 14

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
The "Fleetwood Reviews" are for the current Fleetwood and not the one from 1991.

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

tom28
Explorer
Explorer
As was mentioned there is no need to buy second generator. However, I'm the age of your motorhome. I don't trust the old ones. Look through fleetwood reviews

Dale_Traveling
Explorer II
Explorer II
rhudson1111 wrote:
,,, The reason I talked about a gas generator previously on a larger rig was, that someone mentioned that if I'm going to live aboard or spend a lot of time on it, that a gas generator would be needed for ongoing power of all appliances for multiple days. I'm learning as I go. If the majority agree not needed, I'm happy not to spend money on it 🙂 Thanks!