cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Do any of the new TTs come with Surge Protectors?

Spade_Cooley
Explorer
Explorer
I just bought a new (2021) Rockwood Ultra Lite travel trailer. Do the new trailers have a built in surge protector? I have a message into the factory but have not heard back. I understand the problems moving up to 50 amp from my former 30 amp unit could necessitate getting one.

Without starting a riot, which one do you prefer on a 50 amp trailer?
15 REPLIES 15

MEXICOWANDERER
Explorer
Explorer
So shutting off power is not management (in case of an errors) isn't management?

I'm a documented engineer not an RV appliance salesman. When electricity is incorrect and managed by shutoff this correction? No it would be management. Corrective measues like voltage, transient removal, and waveform distortion reform are all active actions. Load shedding is another management action. Auto paralleling another...

Referring to a camping equipment sales site legitimizes an opinion?

Active protection is continuous. do you prefer transformer multi tap or frequency regulated. MOS or TRansient Avalanche Diode spike filtration. Fully shielded transformer isolation? Each has its positive and negative attributes.

But shutting power off in case of error detection is management not surge protection as used as a a marketing term.

dougrainer
Nomad
Nomad
MEXICOWANDERER wrote:
EMS ELECTRICAL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

Would be a better term for these gizmos.

An isolation transformer coupled after a ferroresonant voltage correction device is a true surge protection unit. From high frequency transients to continuous out of spec line voltage such a product protects against "surges" by any definition.

An LO to earth ground audio screamer would announce L1 Lo reversal.

And anyone connecting to a STANDARD generator without Hertz and Voltage monitoring before throwing the switch, is foolish.